Archive for May 24th, 2009

Covenant Books and Coffee

Yay! A rare 3 days off in a row! Kicking off my Memorial Day weekend was lunch with the girls at Covenant Books and Coffee located just off of Waialae Avenue in Kaimuki. I treated myself to a pedicure in the morning and arrived early at Covenant Books and Coffee. While sipping a decaf latte, I studied my surroundings: a quaint store that is half Christian bookstore and half coffee shop. Since I’m not Christian, I would never have noticed this place or thought to enter if not for the suggestion of my friend. Looking at the multiple “Best of Honolulu” dining awards displayed on the wall, I discovered that they’ve long been recognized as a bonafide gourmet cafe in itself, not just a place that sells bibles and Christian literature.

052309 covenant interior

When the girls (minus one due to a family situation) arrived, we dove right into lunch. We had much to discuss including details for a baby shower for our mommy-to-be girlfriend, a possible girls’ hotel getaway before she gives birth, and the upcoming season of the Bachelorette.

My girlfriend ordered a half sandwich and soup combo ($6.95) with the Smoked Chicken Pesto on Ciabatta Sandwich, and today’s soup was Cheese Tortellini with Garden Vegetables, both items which came highly recommended by her coworker. She also added on a half Caesar Salad ($3.95) and Passionfruit Iced Tea ($1.85).

Covenant Books & Coffee - Half Chicken Pesto Sandwich and Soup ($6.95)

Covenant Books & Coffee - Half Chicken Pesto Sandwich and Soup ($6.95), Passionfruit Iced Tea ($1.85)

Covenant Books & Coffee - Half Caesar Salad ($3.95)

Covenant Books & Coffee - Half Caesar Salad ($3.95)

My other friend ordered a half Big Island Delight Sandwich (smoked chicken, Swiss cheese, bacon, avocado, tomato, lettuce, sprouts) and soup combo ($6.95).

Covenant Books & Coffee - Half Big Island Delight Sandwich ($4.50)

Covenant Books & Coffee - Half Big Island Delight Sandwich ($4.50)

I had a half Big Island Delight Sandwich and soup combo ($6.95) as well, and added on a half Oriental Chicken Salad ($5.50). My salad had fresh lettuce, watercress, shiitake mushrooms, cilantro and chicken breast with oriental dressing. The soup was chunky, thick, and oh so comforting. It was SO much food but so delicious that I ended up finishing it all.

052309 covenant oriental salad

Covenant Books & Coffee - Half Big Island Delight Sandwich & Soup ($6.95) and Half Oriental Chicken Salad ($5.50)

The food was fast, fresh, fabulous, and reasonably priced. Their menu is extremely simple, consisting only of salads, sandwiches, wraps, and a soup of the day, but everything is done well. Usually I don’t like to pay for what I can easily make at home (i.e. a tuna sandwich), but their sandwiches and salads have just an added hint of sophistication (i.e. pesto sauce, smoked chicken breast, or olive tapenade) that makes it worth going out for. If you’re in the Kaimuki area for lunch, you must check out Covenant Books and Coffee.

OVERALL: GOOD
PRICE RANGE:$4.50 for half and $8.50 for full sandwiches, $3.95-$5.50 for half and $6.95-$8.95 for full salads, $3.95 for soup of the day. Click here to view the menu.
MY BILL: $15.00
RETURNING?: I’d love to come back with my husband

Covenant Books and Coffee
(Located next to Hale Vietnam)
1142 12th Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96816
808.732.4600
Mon-Sat: 7:00a-4:00p
Sun: Closed


May 2009
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Comments

Archive