He’s Here!

Welcome to the world little one! It’s been almost two months since our son was born. How quickly we forget what a newborn is like; it’s like I’m a brand new parent all over again.

He is a mellow guy, healthy and happy as can be, and has already doubled his birth weight by two months. Breastfeeding was a difficult journey (again) and the first few weeks were spent crying and struggling and working together with him. Due to low milk supply, we are supplementing with formula, but things are going well. With Nomz, she refused the breast from early on, so I ended up almost exclusively pumping for a year. With S (until we settle on a nickname), he nurses happily and so I’m attached to baby instead of the pump, a much happier place to be for me.

I didn’t realize that raising two kids was so much harder than one! My mom was here from Japan to help out after the C-section but she’s gone already, and with D back to work, I am in full-time stay at home mommy mode. Except life’s busier this time around because there’s Nomz’s school and various activities to get to, and D’s new job keeps him at the office longer. Looking back now, life when Nomz was little seems so leisurely in comparison…

Nomz had a rough time adjusting to the addition to our family the first few days (every time she saw me nursing, she would cry) but things are settling down. Thankfully her resentment is directed at us parents, and not at her baby brother. She is so loving and sweet to her brother and helps with diaper changes and soothes him when he cries. Just as we expected, she is a wonderful big sister!

We are so blessed and our little family now feels complete. But now that I’m reminded of how darn cute babies are, I’m sad to think this will be my last time cuddling a newborn, but I don’t think another one is realistic… Instead I will have to savor and appreciate every moment during this precious time.

img_1014

2 Responses to “He’s Here!”


  1. 1 Leisha December 18, 2016 at 9:52 am

    I’m so happy to hear from you and thrilled that your little boy had arrived safely. Glad the breastfeeding is going well. Your milk should increase the more he feeds. I’m excited because myself and husband and three sons arrived in Honolulu for Christmas! As always I love your blog and have been agaithfull reader for years . Xx

    • 2 honolulueats December 24, 2016 at 10:08 pm

      Thank you! Oh how wonderful to be spending Christmas in Hawaii! Enjoy and Merry Christmas to you and family!


Comments are currently closed.



December 2016
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Comments

Archive