Neighborhood Eats – Pho Bistro 2

In the same sketchy building on the corner of Kalakaua Avenue and Fern Street that I talk about in my Amina Pizzeria post (which, by the way, is still surviving), is Pho Bistro 2. It’s a friendly family-run restaurant serving up pho in a casual atmosphere. It also happens to be situated at the halfway point between my place and Sister in Law 4 (SIL4)’s place, so we often meet there for dinner, as we did the other night.

Chicken Salad ($6.95) on the house – how nice!

Pho Bistro - Chicken Salad ($6.95)

Pho Bistro - Chicken Salad ($6.95)

An order of Spring Rolls ($5.50). This kind of reminds me of Korean food, the way you wrap it in lettuce with your favorite fixin’s…

Pho Bistro - Spring Rolls ($5.50)

Pho Bistro - Spring Rolls ($5.50)

SIL4’s Medium Pho Combination ($6.95), a steaming hot bowl of noodles, beef flank, rare steak, brisket, tripe, tendon, and beef balls in a savory broth. Of course it comes with a side plate of fresh bean sprouts, basil, cilantro, peppers and lime wedges to add to the soup as you please.  Both our hubbies ordered the same thing, but in the large size ($7.50)

Pho Bistro - Pho Combination ($6.95 Medium)

Pho Bistro - Pho Combination ($6.95 Medium)

I had the Bun with Shrimp & Grilled Pork ($7.75), a delicious bowl of cold rice noodles, lettuce and cucumber topped with grilled shrimp, pork, peanuts and fried onion chips. I pour the sauce all over and mix it all up.

Pho Bistro - Bun with Shrimp & Grilled Pork ($7.75)

Pho Bistro - Bun with Shrimp & Grilled Pork ($7.75)

There are many places to eat pho in Honolulu, but Pho Bistro is one of the more reasonably priced places. It’s open every day and within 2 minutes walking distance from my house, so needless to say I’m a repeat customer. It’s the ultimate comfort food on any night.

OVERALL: GOOD
PRICE RANGE:$6.50-7.95 for pho, $6.95-7.75 for bun. Click here to view the menu.
MY BILL: $22.00 for two
RETURNING?: Yes

Pho Bistro 2
(Corner of Kalakaua and Fern, parking lot entrance off Fern Street)
1694-C Kalakaua Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96826
808.949.2727
Mon-Sat 10:30a-9:30p
Sun 11:00a-8:00p

6 Responses to “Neighborhood Eats – Pho Bistro 2”


  1. 1 TNS SWR August 23, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Love eating it!!!In fact I don’t mind going again soon.

  2. 2 Keith August 27, 2009 at 12:07 am

    If you like ox tail soup, this place has the best and at such a reasonable price. Although I can put it away in one sitting, it can easily be stretched out to 3 meals. Their lemon grass chicken is also a favorite.

  3. 3 phofever August 27, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    You are lucky indeed to have a dependable pho joint so close to your home! We added a link to your post on Pho Bistro’s profile page on our site:

    http://www.phofever.com/restaurants.php?rid=3020

    • 4 honolulueats August 27, 2009 at 9:18 pm

      Wow. Your website is so cool. I admire the passion to make a mission out of spreading a good bowl of noodles. I found out the correct name for this restaurant is Pho Bistro 2, so I updated my post title.

  4. 5 Keith September 10, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    We took friends visiting from San Diego last night. In spite of their dining at Azure, Nobu and Orchids, they said it was perhaps the best mealso far this trip. There is something very “comforting” about the broths and clean flavors of their dishes. The fact that you can BYOB is a bonus! We opted for ice-cold Sapporos in the big shiny cans.

    • 6 honolulueats September 10, 2009 at 9:45 pm

      I know, your honey told me today. She said you had the oxtail soup, which I have yet to try. We actually drove by at 7:20pm and was looking to see if I could see you guys, but I didn’t. I didn’t know it was BYOB – good to know!


Comments are currently closed.



August 2009
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Comments

Archive