Crepes!

I often find the fastest way to satisfy a craving is to make it yourself. I had a sudden craving for a fresh crepe with strawberry, whipped cream and chocolate syrup. The closest place I know of for crepes (I think) is Aloha Crepes in Pearlridge but there’s a problem: they use canned whipped cream. I passionately love whipped cream, particularly freshly whipped pure heavy cream with nothing added but sugar. Crepe House in Waikiki uses “fake” cream. The crepe shop inside Shirokiya is my favorite but I wasn’t about to drive all the way into Ala Moana Shopping Center 10 days before Christmas for a crepe. I’m not that brave.

I had eggs, flour, butter, sugar, frozen strawberries and chocolate syrup in the fridge so I just picked up some heavy cream and voila! Dessert.

20131215-001452.jpg
FOUR crepes later, my craving is satisfied, but has also taken on new life in a different direction. Memories of a heavenly galette complete (savory buckwheat crepe filled with ham, egg, cheese) I had in Japan a few years ago fill my brain as I google the recipe. Immediately added to my grocery list: buckwheat flour and gruyere cheese.

December 2013
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Comments

Archive