A Long Day…

Last night we ended up at the hospital at 3am for observation after a pregnancy related issue. This morning I had my very first hospital meal ever in my life. Scrambled eggs, bacon and potatoes served on a disposable tray with ketchup packets.

You’d think a hospital menu would be more health conscious, but whatever. I was starving! The novelty of the experience was exciting enough that I was almost disappointed to be discharged just as lunch was being served (I spied lime jello and chocolate pudding on the carts!). OK, I said almost disappointed.

Anyway, all was OK but by the time we got home we were exhausted and the doctor ordered me to rest and take it easy for the next week at least. While I rested, my husband went grocery shopping and cooked up dinner: lemon basil pasta with chicken, garlic toast. He is my super hero!

4 Responses to “A Long Day…”


  1. 1 rtasaka May 8, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    I found hospital food exciting too! I was at Kapi’olani and you could order certain foods. They had some local/Japanese stuff like okai. I think that’s what it’s called. I also like jello.

    I have to say the pasta your husband made looks awesome though! From your blog I always thought you were the cook in the house, but looks like he can more than hold his own.

    • 2 honolulueats May 8, 2012 at 11:13 pm

      Oh good to know I’m not the only one! Cool that you had some flexibility in choices. Yes, when I think hospital food jello and pudding immediately come to mind. I love jello too!

      My husband has been amazing. He’s had to cook a lot more lately due to my not feeling well, and he’ll look up recipes online and make some really delicious dinners.

      • 3 asiansettlercolonialism May 17, 2012 at 8:40 am

        Oh, that’s a scary trip to the hospital. I’m relieved to hear that you’re back home.
        It looks like they sprinkled parsley on the eggs–that’s pretty impressive! After my c- section they gave me blue raspberry jello and beef broth. Then on the third day they gave me Portuguese sausage and scrambled eggs–no transition or middle ground between beef broth and Portuguese sausage!
        At Kapi’olani, they make you a special meal for two before you leave the hospital. I heard that it used to be steak and lobster, but by our time it was chicken cordon bleu. That was very nice.

      • 4 honolulueats May 17, 2012 at 9:50 pm

        Thanks! Beef broth… yum… I still remember about the chicken cordon bleu – didn’t they give you a bottle of cider too? That was very cute. Can’t believe it’s been 10 years since it all happened!


Comments are currently closed.



May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archive