Pregnancy and Food

One of the reasons I write this blog is that it’s a great place I can keep all my memories to read back and enjoy. True, I only write about food, but when I think about it, food is such an integral part of my life. Almost every memory, life event,and relationship can be told through food, and this is one such life event I want to be sure to keep a record of. So this is more of a journal entry for myself.

Hubby and I are expecting our first baby this fall! And pregnancy has changed my relationship with food, at least temporarily I hope. In short, first trimester pregnancy + food = a hate relationship. I was too exhausted to cook, nothing tasted good, and everything I ate gave me heartburn. Yet as soon as my stomach was empty I felt sick, so I spent the past 2 months shoving food in my mouth every hour just to sooth the nausea, only to get heartburn. The only foods I actually enjoyed were tart, refreshing flavors like chilled grapefruit, lemon, and tomatoes. I’m supposed to be staying away from raw fish, raw eggs, soft imported cheeses, all my usual favorites. For the first time in my life food became a source of misery, not joy for me. I didn’t expect to be spending so much of my time thinking about food – what to eat and not to eat, how and when to secure my next meal, but I did.

My palate became naturally more sensitive to the over-salted and MSG flavors of take-out and fast food. My brain became more conscious of what I was eating and providing to this little person growing inside of me, and I started looking into organic and natural alternatives wherever possible.

I think the process of how a baby grows inside a mother can only be described as a miracle. It’s strange to think I directly supply the feeding tube that nourishes this baby – what a huge responsibility! A most welcome and wonderful responsibility, but at the same time I can’t wait till I can eat sushi and gooey eggs benedict again. I’m told that the second trimester will bring on a hearty appetite and that things will start tasting better, so I’m looking forward to enjoying eating again, while keeping track not to gain too much weight.

9 Responses to “Pregnancy and Food”


  1. 1 Molly April 5, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    I’m thrilled for you and your loved ones! Congratulations! Please take good care of yourself and your baby.

  2. 3 友紀子 April 6, 2012 at 1:19 am

    愛ちゃん

     ごぶさたしてます。友紀子です。
    いつも楽しく見てます。太郎くんのブログとともに。
    (英語は分かってるんだか分かってないんだかも、分からないくらいだけどね…)
    おめでとう! 
     健康的な食生活で、すこやかにおすごしくださいね。
    ワクワクするね~。

     一度はハワイにも行きたいと思います。
    またどこかで会えること、楽しみしています。

    • 4 honolulueats April 6, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      友紀子ちゃんお久しぶりです!ブログ読んでくれてたんだー。ありがとう。ハワイに来るときは是非お会いしましょう。実は今日からほんの3日間ほど思いつきで東京に遊びに行きます。桜が満開と聞いたのでみれると良いなー。友紀子ちゃんもお元気でね。

  3. 5 taroinbrisbane April 8, 2012 at 3:16 am

    愛、いいPostだね。妊娠した事無いけど非常に共感。
    友紀子ちゃん、アロハー!

  4. 6 Tammy April 23, 2012 at 9:48 am

    I agree, your relationship with food does change when you are pregnant. Most women are not very hungry the first few weeks, especially if they get morning sickness. You also think about whether what you eat is healthy – it is a wonderful feeling to have a life in your body and a responsibility. Good luck on your journey!

  5. 8 loganthesockmonkey April 24, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    i stumbled on to your blog and i love how you showcase the dining scene in honolulu. and congratulations on the baby!! i love food too, so it was hard for me to give up those foods when i got preggers, but you get used to it and then you compensate with ice cream and sweets in the end 🙂

    • 9 honolulueats April 25, 2012 at 12:03 pm

      Hi and thanks for your comment! Ah, ice cream and sweets. I’ve been eating way too much of that too, but the fear of gestational diabetes is always on my mind… It’ll all be worth it in the end, right? 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Recent Comments

Archive