Today’s Lunch for One

Natto onigiri and miso soup with onions and zucchini.

Natto is one of my favorite musubi fillings. Natto musubis are hard to find nowadays, but for a brief period in the mid-90s Family Mart (a convenience store chain in Japan) used to carry it. After school, my friends and I, in our Japanese school uniforms, used to love going to the nearby ファミマ “Fami-Ma” to buy snacks. I was in love with their natto musubi.

There are various theories online about why natto musubis are rarely sold today, when natto maki sushi can be found anywhere. Apparently the mix of warm rice combined with the live cultures in the fermented natto doesn’t make for an ideal situation, food safety-wise and smell-wise. I guess it’s just easier to deal with served with cold sushi rice (thanks to the antibacterial effects of vinegar).

But, I say, they’re just not the same – one is not a substitution for the other! I love natto maki too, but I also love natto musubis in a different way. I make both at home, depending on which one I’m in the mood for: hikiwari (finely chopped) natto is the only way to go for natto maki and shiso leaves are a must. For the musubi I prefer the larger whole beans seasoned well with shoyu and a generous sprinkling of salt on the outside of the rice ball. It’s a little sticky and messy (watch out for that falling bean!) but SO worth it.

3 Responses to “Today’s Lunch for One”


  1. 1 せっちゃん January 13, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    納豆のおにぎり(私たちはおにぎり、と言って育ちました)とお味噌汁のコンビはサイコーにおいしい!うちでは今、お味噌汁に豆乳を投入(おやじギャグですみません、さぶっ!)するのが流行です。お味噌汁がまろやかになります。考えてみたらお味噌も豆乳も大豆つながりだからマッチングはいいはずだよね。よし、今日の昼ごはんは私も発芽玄米の納豆おにぎりにしよう!

    • 2 honolulueats January 15, 2012 at 10:43 pm

      味噌汁に豆乳を投入ね、今度試してみようっと。私は最近味噌汁にごま油を最後に投入するのにハマっています。

  2. 3 せっちゃん January 16, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    味噌汁にゴマ油ね。うーん。これもいい香りがしそうだね。さっそく今夜の味噌汁に入れてみよう!


Comments are currently closed.



January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Comments

Archive