2011 Ends, 2012 Starts

I’m not really into New Year’s resolutions and such, but I do want to work on blogging more consistently in the new year. One obstacle is the fact that I lost the charger for my digital camera, thus the camera usually in my purse currently lies dead on my desk. The charger is somewhere in the house, I know, so I guess the new year must begin with a major cleanup. Sigh…

The holiday season was a blur. Christmas weekend was spent chilling with FIL from Maui. We started with a picnic with food from Gulick Deli, and basically continued our eat-a-thon for the rest of the weekend.

Also for the first time in my life I had my car stolen over Christmas, which made for a little post-Christmas excitement. Not to worry, it was recovered a few days later undamaged.

Over New Years we were thrilled to welcome BIL4 and SIL4 home from Los Angeles, with MIL joining from Maui. Dinner at our place this year was rather quiet without the fireworks but festive nonetheless. I only remembered to snap a few photos of the sushi rice “cake” and corn kakiage I made before everyone arrived and I got busy.

2011 was a whirlwind of a year – I continued to work on developing my business, spent lots of time with family, ate well, etc. It was the first year in a long time we didn’t travel anywhere, so I think we’re overdue for a trip this year. I feel island fever coming on, and seriously miss Japan. 2011 also brought about the Tohoku earthquake and tsunami, which changed our family’s life forever, although we’re blessed to be alive and well.

I have a feeling 2012 will be a good year for us.

Wishing all of you a wonderful 2012 too!

 

12 Responses to “2011 Ends, 2012 Starts”


  1. 1 Molly January 3, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    Happy New Year! I really enjoy your blog entries and hope you find time to post more frequently this year!

    • 2 honolulueats January 4, 2012 at 11:19 am

      Thank you for your comment Molly! I will try to keep up with the blogging better. Wishing you a Happy New Year as well,

  2. 3 taroinbrisbane January 5, 2012 at 1:34 am

    OMG! Your car was stolen when we were skyping and you were cool as a kitten. I like your prophecy about this year going to be a good one for all of us.

    • 4 honolulueats January 6, 2012 at 5:36 pm

      OMG is right! Can’t believe how lucky I was. That was hubby calling during our Skype session to tell me to hurry up and call the police, but nothing is more important than talking to my cutie pie nieces!

  3. 5 せっちゃん January 9, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    お寿司ホントにケーキみたい!センスがある人がうらやましいです。かき揚げも上手にできているね。何でも自分で作って尊敬しちゃいます。

  4. 6 papamonkey January 10, 2012 at 1:09 am

    この寿司ケーキは独創的。どんぶりとかの容器から出してプレゼンしているのがポイントだね。

  5. 8 せっちゃん January 11, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    どんぶり!私にそのような発想はきっとできないね。アタマは使いよう、ってことか。

    • 9 honolulueats January 12, 2012 at 2:48 pm

      ケーキの型にラップを敷き詰めると簡単に取り出せます。最近はもっぱらインターネットで検索するとレシピや上手に作れるコツなど参考になる点がたくさんあるので助かっています。特にCookpadを愛読しています。

  6. 10 せっちゃん January 13, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    私も毎日COOKPADを見て若い人のアイデアに感心する毎日です。レシピはもちろん、写真もとっても美味しそうな素敵な写真をアップしてあるのでそれにも感心することしきり、であります。

    • 11 honolulueats January 15, 2012 at 10:41 pm

      そうそう、cookpadって最高だよねー。若い人とは限らないと思うけど。皆それぞれお母さんから受け継いだ味がこうしてレシピ化して保存されたり他人の役に立って行くんだね。

  7. 12 せっちゃん January 16, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    うん、私もずいぶんCOOKPADのお世話になって今までやったことのない料理にもチャレンジしてます。たまにはハズレってこともあるけれど、ヒントをたくさんもらうよね。なかでも、やっぱりセンスのある人は発想が違うなぁ、と感心することが多いです。


Comments are currently closed.



January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Comments

Archive