Beginner’s Bread

We eat a lot of bread. With a loaf of decent bread costing five, six dollars these days, it makes bread baking all the more gratifying. I have a go-to recipe that’s delicious as is, but also works as a great base to add mix-ins and toppings to like caramelized onions & mushrooms, cinnamon sugar & raisins, rosemary & parmesan, whatever. You can shape it as a loaf or cut into individual rolls.

What initially attracted me to this recipe was, well, its promising name: “Super Easy Bread for Beginners”. Well, I’m happy to report that it is indeed super easy and comes out great every time!

Click here for Super Easy Bread for Beginners Recipe from About.com

My notes:

  • I always end up using about 3 and 1/2 cups flour total for a dough that’s not dry but doesn’t stick
  • I don’t knead on the counter. I start with a large bowl and knead and punch right inside the bowl. It beats wiping up flour from all over the kitchen counter and floor.
  • From start to finish when it goes in the baking pan, I only use the one bowl. When you don’t have a dishwasher, you learn to streamline.

My favorite kitchen gadget these days? My iPad. There’s no longer the need to go back and forth to the computer to double-check or print out recipes. The internet is a fantastic resource for inspirations and my iPad literally allows me to cook while consulting the internet. The bonus:  being able to Skype with my family while washing the dishes!

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Comments

Archive