My Daily Dose of Happy

Watering the garden is my daily dose of happy. To join my garden, a candidate need fulfill one criteria only: to be delicious. Hubby does the watering each afternoon, while I like to talk to my herbs and pet them and take in the lingering fragrance on my fingertips.

I had been eyeing my jungle-like yard for a while now, trying to find some space for a little herb garden. Turns out, once all the overgrown weeds were pulled out, I had a nice patch of real estate (and a landlord who’s pretty chill). I’ve always had potted herbs here and there, but they seem to do SO much better in the ground. If all goes well, It would be nice to add some more veggies to the mix like zucchini, eggplant and peppers.

So far I have parsley and green onions,

Basil and rosemary,

Arugula,

Mint, lots of mint. It’s a good thing I followed online tips and planted this one separately in a planter because if not contained, it grows so rapidly to the point of being invasive to its neighbors.

Newcomers shiso

and cherry tomato,

and sprouting from an egg carton are a mix of mesclun greens.

Nothing beats being able to just run outside to grab some fresh basil for a pasta, or arugula for a salad! It’s like having a little organic farmers market outside your doorstep.

6 Responses to “My Daily Dose of Happy”


  1. 1 SIL2 September 15, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    I love the daily dose of Happy. I can’t picture where this is, but it looks very pretty and neat😀

    Yes my herb window is quickly becoming “riotous” and need trimming. My oregano seems to grow the fastest.

    • 2 honolulueats September 19, 2011 at 8:45 pm

      I love that word “riotous” to describe your plants! Plants have such personality, riotous is perfect for the out-of-control wildly energetic plant. Let me know if you ever want any mint or basil, I can’t keep up!

  2. 3 keiko from australia September 16, 2011 at 12:38 am

    写真に写ってる愛ちゃんの足がかわいいです。元気にしてるのねーって確認できた。

    • 4 honolulueats September 19, 2011 at 8:43 pm

      足ですか?以外なところに注目ですね。ハーブの大きさの目安になるかと思って足もいれてみました。元気にしていまーす。

  3. 5 The Little Foodie October 1, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Wow! That is a great garden! I am terrible. We let our basil get too big and woody. I always kick myself at that point.

    • 6 honolulueats October 3, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      Thanks! I know, it’s hard to keep up with basil because it grows sooo fast and sooo much… It’s pesto time soon.


Comments are currently closed.



September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archive