A Laid Back Evening

With my housewarming gift in hand, I visited my friends at their new house for a casual dinner. Parts of the house were still under construction, and the dining table had not arrived yet, so we sat around the kitchen island for some good eats and laughs. I had to post a picture of the beautifully designed kitchen – with a kitchen like this, who wouldn’t be inspired to throw a dinner party on a Wednesday, or every day?

Cheeses and sparkling wine to start

A simple salad with balsamic dressing

Baked salmon with roasted garlic crust

and desserts from Fendu Boulangerie in Manoa: blueberry pie and pear tart.

As I reach a certain age, many friends are becoming homeowners and I’m seeing more of my social gatherings shift from dinners at restaurants to intimate entertaining at home. A most welcome shift for me, because nothing beats the relaxing atmosphere of a home-cooked meal shared with friends in the comfort of your home.

Congratulations and thank you again to the host and hostess!

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Comments

Archive