Taco Party

My parents were in town for a few days. After surviving the earthquake and tsunami in Sendai, they’ve been living as evacuees in Southern Japan for the past few months. They decided to return to Sendai for a brief visit just to gather a few more necessities, but took a detour to come visit their daughters in Hawaii. It’s such a blessing to see they’re OK and to be able to spend time together as a family again (minus my brother in Australia). We didn’t do much during their short stay, but we just enjoyed talking, laughing, and cooking meals together.

Last night’s dinner: taco night with hubbies joining us too.

I just dropped them off at the airport. My sister will accompany them to Sendai to help clean up and pick up the pieces –  shattered remnants of life as they knew it – in the house that’s been left untouched since March 11th. It’ll be a long journey before life can return to normal (if at all) for those affected by the earthquake. But I count my blessings every day and cherish each moment that I have with my family.

 

2 Responses to “Taco Party”


  1. 1 RobynT June 5, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    i didn’t know your family was affected by the quake! glad they are ok, even if their place is not.

    • 2 honolulueats June 6, 2011 at 12:11 pm

      Thank you Robyn. They are from Shichigahama, a small seaside town near Sendai. Hope you are doing well!


Comments are currently closed.



June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Recent Comments

Archive