Cafe Taj Mahal

For this month’s girls dinner we took a walk on the exotic side for some Indian cuisine at Cafe Taj Mahal.  I adore Indian food, but not all my friends and family are as into it. You might also say Indian food is a minority as far as dining out in Honolulu, so it was such a treat to discover a new restaurant and enjoy good Indian food at the same time.

Cafe Taj Mahal is located next to Sabrina’s Italian Ristorante on the corner of Waialae Avenue and St. Louis Drive. Parking is difficult, but there’s ample additional parking at the paid public lot across the street. Once inside, the restaurant is cozy, neat and friendly.

We shared freshly baked Garlic Naan ($3.99). Naan bread is so heavenly – it’s chewy and fluffy and steamy all at the same time. It’s a must-have when dining Indian.

Our delicious spread:

Clockwise from bottom left:

Shrimp Biryani ($16.99) – HUGE portion, similar to a shrimp fried rice but with a hint of curry spice and assorted vegetables and potatoes.

Palak Paneer ($11.99) – a mild creamed spinach and cheese curry. One of my all-time favorite dishes.

Lamb Curry Masala ($15.50) – curry with tender chunks of lamb meat.

Eggplant Tikka Masala ($11.99) – deep-fried pieces of eggplant served with a mild tomato based sauce.

and not pictured, Rice Polau ($5.50) – generous portion of basmati rice simply flavored with ghee (clarified butter) and herbs. I must have rice with my curry, so this was the perfect accompaniment.

It was such a wonderful dinner and I think we all left feeling very satisfied. Of course we continued on to part two of our get together: Starbucks and more conversation. Till next month!

MENU: View the menu on their website.

Cafe Taj Mahal
3036 Waialae Avenue, Suite B-4
Honolulu, HI 96816
808.732-6496

Daily:
Lunch: 11:00a-2:00p
Dinner: 5:00p-10:00p

9 Responses to “Cafe Taj Mahal”


  1. 1 taroinbrisbane March 28, 2011 at 5:15 am

    Remember the Indian we went to on your last night in Bris? That place is also called Taj Mahal and they are ranked 41 in Urbanspoon QLD. (We are 44 today!)

    • 2 honolulueats March 28, 2011 at 1:50 pm

      I do remember the Indian restaurant we went to – it was fantastic! Congrats on #2 in Urbanspoon Brisbane CBD!

  2. 3 Er March 28, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    I will say that I’m glad we tried this place. It was DEFINITELY out of my comfort zone, but it was good for me to try something new that I totally wouldn’t have if you guys didn’t suggest it. ;)

    It was a LOT of food we had! All good dishes. A BIT spicy, but doable. At least the portions were pretty generous.

    • 4 honolulueats March 29, 2011 at 9:55 am

      It was so great that you tried it! I’m glad you found dishes that you could eat. The portions were quite generous, weren’t they…

  3. 6 Marie April 3, 2011 at 9:17 am

    I love paneer, too! Love how its just slightly rich, but not overwhelmingly so. Sounds like a feast!

    • 7 honolulueats April 3, 2011 at 9:25 pm

      Hi Marie! Yes, it’s rich but not too rich and being a vegetarian dish I feel like it’s healthy (but it probably has lots of ghee or oil in it). Do you have lots of good Indian food in LA?

  4. 8 Marie April 7, 2011 at 6:15 am

    I think the best Indian food is in Artesia (a town outside of LA), which is referred to as Little India. I haven’t made the drive yet, but one day I will! Most of the Indian food in LA is a bit steep in price, unfortunately.

    • 9 honolulueats April 7, 2011 at 10:07 pm

      I see, Indian food is pricey, huh? You’re so lucky that there’s a Little India within driving range! I would love to visit there one day…


Comments are currently closed.



March 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Recent Comments

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.