Sunrise Restaurant

I met up with some friends at Sunrise Restaurant for our last get together in 2010. How is it that I’ve lived here for 13 years and never heard of this place? This tiny, bustling hole-in-the-wall Okinawan restaurant is tucked away from sight, just off Kapahulu Avenue and is a favorite of my friend’s hubby. He is Okinawan and navigated us through the menu. When I think Okinawan cuisine, I think goya (bittermelon), awamori, lots of fatty pork, and Okinawa soba and was delighted find all of these and more on the menu. (Except for the awamori – the restaurant is BYOB, they don’t even have soft drinks).

First up, Goya Champuru (stir-fry bittermelon with egg and pork, $8.00). I was never a fan of bittermelon until now, but this tasty dish changed that quite easily.

Nakami Champuru (stir-fry pig intestine with mushroom and veggies, $8.00). The intestine was very tender and flavorful.

And off their specials, Ahi Poke ($14.00) with a kick of wasabi.

Hamachi Kama ($13.00), a generous portion of the collar section of hamachi. Fatty and tender, I enjoyed the kama with a little grated daikon, lemon juice and shoyu.

Deep Fried Flounder – fried to a crisp so you can eat everything, crunchy bones and fins and all.

Shoyu Spareribs.

Assortment of Sushi. By this time we were stuffed but the food just kept coming!

Mini Okinawa Soba. Thick noodles, light broth similar to saimin broth.

Wow – they had to roll me out of there after all that food. For home style Okinawan cuisine, check out Sunrise Restaurant. I hear you can catch the owner’s impressive shamisen ( a traditional Japanese banjo-like instrument with only 3 strings) performance on some nights.

Sunrise Restaurant
525 Kapahulu Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
808.737.4118
Mon-Thu 11:30a-2:00p
Mon-Sat 5:30-9:30p

9 Responses to “Sunrise Restaurant”


  1. 1 せっちゃん December 27, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    おーっ!ハワイにもホーヤはあるんだね。考えたらハワイも沖縄も暖かいところだからゴーヤがあっても不思議はないか・・。全く食べれなかったゴーヤですが数年前に友達が教えてくれた食べ方でゴーヤの熱烈なファンになりましたよ。夏になるとご近所に生っているゴーヤを好きなだけもって行っていい、といっていただいているのでシーズン中は週に3回くらいはゴーヤを食べています。そして、来年はベランダで作ってみようかと考えて種をもらってきています。

    • 2 honolulueats December 29, 2010 at 9:10 pm

      ゴーヤ、結構気に入りました。ハワイで生産しているかどうかは別として、中華料理店でよくみかけます。せっちゃんはどうやって調理するの?

  2. 3 Keith December 28, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Roll us out indeed! It was all good but I had a couple of stand outs. I too loved the bittermelon (was it egg or tofu on it?) and was surprised at how tasty the Nakami Champuru was. I never would have thought the intestine to have a “mushroom” texture. So tender and mild in flavor. A definitely place worth repeating.

    • 4 honolulueats December 29, 2010 at 9:12 pm

      You’re right – the bittermelon had tofu in it too (and egg). The intestine was surprisingly good, wasn’t it? “Mushroom-like” is actually the perfect word to describe the texture, and even the look of it too. Was so nice to see you again, and lucky me I got to see your honey again today for lunch!

  3. 5 Marie December 31, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Hmm, I’ve never been a fan of bitter melon either. Granted, I’ve only had it once or twice, maybe I should give it another try? You guys ate up!! 🙂

    • 6 honolulueats December 31, 2010 at 4:35 pm

      Hi Marie! I’ve only had bitter melon a few times prior to this too, but for some reason this dish made me feel like “hmm… I think I could come to love this!” If there’s an Okinawan restaurant near you, perhaps it might be worth another try. Happy new year,

  4. 7 せっちゃん January 4, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    はい、私のいちばんのお気に入りの調理方法はシンプルですよ。ゴーヤを縦割りにして種を取ったらそれを5~7mmくらいにスライスしてサッとゆがきます。水分をギュッとしぼってゴマとおかか、塩昆布で和えるだけ!目からウロコのおいしさにこれを教えた友達が何人もこの味のとりこになりましたよ。

    • 8 honolulueats January 5, 2011 at 11:36 am

      ありがとう。そっか、油を使わない和え物だね。今度ためしてみようっと。

  5. 9 せっちゃん January 4, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    あっ!これに加えるゴマは絶対にすりゴマの方がおいしいです。


Comments are currently closed.



December 2010
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Comments

Archive