Sweet Home Cafe

Recently I finally had the chance to try the Taiwanese style hot pot that’s all the rage right now. I feel like with the recent craze in hot pot, frozen yogurt and shave ice, a new generation of Asian business owners and consumers are really gaining momentum in the food industry. But let me focus my attention back to the restaurant that deserves our full attention.

Sweet Home Cafe, I love you.

This was my pick for my birthday girls’ night because I had heard of it so many times, and have witnessed the long lines outside at all hours of the night. What, I wondered, was all the fuss about? It turns out that all the fuss is about an incredibly satisfying, fun dining experience that packs so much value for your buck. No wonder it attracts crowds of young people and other cash-strapped customers like me.

If you haven’t yet been here, the system is quite simple: you select the broth(s) of your choice ranging in price from $5.95 to $12.95. If all of you agree on a broth, 3-4 people can easily share one pot of broth. If not, they have sectioned pots for you to enjoy 2 different broths. Then, go to town picking out the ingredients to put inside: thin shabu-shabu style meats, seafood, veggies, tofu, mushrooms, and a gazillion different kinds of fishcakes. The meats are prepared in the kitchen, but everything else is self-serve from their huge refrigerators. The dishes are color-coded by price: $2.75 for green and white plates, $3.75 for red and yellow plates, and $4-something for blue plates I think. (Note: there is a 90 minute time limit which should be enough time especially since they take your order while you’re waiting and swiftly bring everything out to you).

6 Fabulous things that make Sweet Home Cafe so fabulous:

  • Broths are all natural, no MSG
  • Free rice
  • Free refills on the broth
  • Free selection of 17 different sauces and condiments including chopped chinese parsley, fried garlic, sesame sauce, miso sauce, spicy sauce, etc. With this complete arsenal of dipping flavors, I could just cook the ingredients in plain water and it would still be good.
  • Free Taiwanese shave ice dessert
  • They pack up the leftover soup for you to take home, which you can enjoy with noodles for a whole other meal

Here we tried the house special broth and healthy herb broth. The house special broth is a clear beef based broth with chinese parsley, star anise and bay leaf, and had a similar flavor to pho broth. The milky broth was the healthy herb broth with a sweet nutty flavor and had a ton of what looked like ancient Chinese medicinal herbs and dried fruits and nuts inside. The broths are mild and not very salty, which is perfect because there’s the dipping sauces and the ingredients add their own flavor.

Here’s our pot after everything’s been added.  At the very end, Japanese style would be to add rice to make porridge or noodles (and they do have noodles) to enjoy all that flavor deposited by all those ingredients, but we were just too full. I enjoyed the soup the next day with some noodles and the amount of umami in the soup was just unbelievable.

After we ate to our hearts’ content, they brought out a huge bowl of Taiwanese style shave ice with all kinds of yummy toppings for us to share.

This entire meal for 4 was only $54.00 before tax and tip! The service here is extremely attentive and warm, and with people sharing tables when it gets busy, it really feels like you’re in their home’s bustling kitchen. It’s the combination of value, service, and the sheer fun of creating your perfect hot pot that makes this place so attractive.  I am hopelessly in love and can’t wait to return with my hubby. The long wait? It suddenly doesn’t matter anymore – love is blind.

Sweet Home Cafe
(inside Old Stadium Mall, by Kozo Sushi)
2334 S. King St.
Honolulu, HI 96826
808.947.3707
Daily 4:00p-11:00p

4 Responses to “Sweet Home Cafe”


  1. 1 RobynT November 9, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Cool, I have been wanting to go there too! My parents went earlier this year and brought home leftovers. I liked the milky one a lot, better than the spicy one, which surprised me. Which did you like better of the two you tried?

    • 2 honolulueats November 10, 2010 at 11:32 am

      Hi Robyn! We unanimously liked the house special (the not milky one) better – the milky one was sweet and took some getting used to. But it was still good.

  2. 3 NL November 29, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    I’ve been there a couple of times and grow more “in love” with the place each time! Even now, just THINKING of it makes me crave it!

    Personally, I like the herb soup the best. I’ve actually only had that one and the house special. I think I was brought up on the herb type of soup; the herbs are sold in a packet in Chinatown and I have fond memories of drinking the soup that my mom made all the time, using lamb shanks as the soup base…delicious!

    I love the sauces….I use at least 4 of them, dipping like crazy. 🙂 The free dessert is a perfect way to end a perfectly satisfying meal. And taking home the left over soup is an extra bonus! I just add udon or saimin noodles and I’m in heaven all over again! 🙂

    • 4 honolulueats December 2, 2010 at 10:05 am

      I know, I love this place! Your daughter was quite the pro, explaining the whole system to us and how to eat it. Interesting that you enjoy the herb soup. I was wondering what the herbs are good for, like medicinal purposes? What are they? They looked like dates and lychee and raisins! Haha. And what gives the soup the milky color? I’m thinking with your Chinese culinary background, you might be able to provide some answers.


Comments are currently closed.



November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Comments

Archive


