Tonkatsu

Tonight’s dinner: Tonkatsu with miso soup and rice. I never used to do deep-fried items, especially katsu since they’re a little tedious to make and messy to clean up. But now I keep a container for leftover oil and it’s nice to be able to fry things here and there like croquettes for hubby’s bentos or some tempura with leftover vegetables.

6 Responses to “Tonkatsu”


  1. 1 Marie November 6, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    Love all kinds of katsu! Yum. 🙂

    • 2 honolulueats November 7, 2010 at 11:53 am

      Me too! My favorite is fried oyster katsu. Do you make yours at home?

      • 3 Marie November 9, 2010 at 4:59 pm

        I have in the past, but my studio apt isn’t great for frying (even pan-frying) foods. 😦 Luckily, I can get my katsu cravings taken care of pretty easily here!

      • 4 honolulueats November 10, 2010 at 11:30 am

        I know what you mean – the oil smell gets everywhere! Believe it or not, my ancient apartment does not have a vent over the kitchen stove so I have to blast the fan and open the windows. If you’re ever in Hawaii, you must try Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin for some great tonkatsu.

  2. 5 NL November 29, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    I just got back from Japan where my brother took me to TWO Tonkatsu places. One place had ONLY the pork tonkatsu on their menu. It was located in Tokyo and was packed. We all sit around a huge cooking area where we could observe the making of the tonkatsu from start to finish. There’s an old man who has the job of cutting the directly hot-from-the-oil piece of tonkatsu. He must have fingers of steel! I got the pork that has a “little” fat. It was $18 for 10 oz and came with all the miso soup, rice and cabbage that you can eat. Loved it!

    Another restaurant had all kinds of Katsu dishes. I had the Tonkatsu, fresh oyster katsu, and gigantic shrimp with heads katsu. The prices were very reasonable here, except for the shrimp which was about $21. The tonkatsu was $11 for a very large piece, and for 6 oysters, it was about $7. I was stuffed!

    P.S. YOUR tonkatsu looks delicious!

    • 6 honolulueats December 2, 2010 at 10:03 am

      Welcome back from Japan! I hope you had a fantastic time. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed some great food while there!


Comments are currently closed.



November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Comments

Archive


