Wedding at Royal Hawaiian Hotel

This past weekend hubby and I attended a wedding at the gorgeous Royal Hawaiian Hotel. LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. WEDDINGS. I just LOVE attending weddings. My entire career has been in the banquets/catering industry and it combines my passion for parties with my passion for food! I love special events for the same reason I love food: it brings together families and friends for a room filled with love.

The grand Monarch Room was certainly overflowing with love for the beautiful bride and groom as we celebrated their marriage with good food, music, and a spectacular Chinese lion dance.

The Royal Hawaiian Hotel did a fantastic job on the food & drinks. I was so impressed with their sleek yet creative buffet presentation and dessert display. The quality of the food was excellent – so much better than I ever remembered it prior to the renovations.

The evening started out with cocktails and hors d’oeuvre on the Ocean Lawn: beef tenderloin skewers, salmon pastry rolls, and greek pasta salad.

And for dinner, my appetizer plate included: new potato salad, Big Island greens with herbs, baby romaine with caesar dressing and white anchovies, Asian pulled chicken salad, and chilled prawns with mango sauce. Everything was so tastefully done!

Then I returned to the buffet for my entrees: roasted potatoes, sautéed vegetables, pork medallions, oriental style steamed snapper, herb crusted prime rib, and jasmine rice perfumed with lemongrass.

And of course, desserts: guava bread pudding, coconut flan, flourless chocolate cake, Kona coffee opera cake, lilikoi cheesecake “lollipops”, and creme brulee.

The evening was such a treat for hubby and I as we enjoyed the good food and good company. We were also honored that the couple asked us to help with many of the logistical aspects of the reception and being involved made it that much more fun.

There’s a phrase in Hawaii that I’ve heard so many couples (or their parents and in-laws) planning their wedding jokingly say – “the only thing the guests will remember is the food”. Well, I wholeheartedly disagree with this approach to wedding planning. It’s so old-fashioned and a bit insulting to your guests’ intelligence. Of course this is a food blog so that’s what I’ve focused on here, but what your guests really remember about your special day is how they felt. Did you make them feel special, welcomed, and appreciated for coming all this way? Did they feel blessed and honored to be standing there witnessing your marriage? And most of all, were you able to share the joy and love you have for each other with all of your guests? These are achieved through a combination of careful planning of the details (venue, food & beverage, ambience) while allowing yourselves to be relaxed enough to reflect on what the big day is really about. As long as you’re successful in making your guests feel special and feel your love, they will fondly remember your special day…

8 Responses to “Wedding at Royal Hawaiian Hotel”


  1. 1 The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort October 12, 2010 at 8:18 am

    Aloha and thank you for sharing your beautiful photography! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our wedding presentation, food and beverage. We agree that a wedding is so much more than just the meal, but we are glad to have provided a meal to remember as well! Mahalo Nui Loa, The Royal Hawaiian Team

    • 2 honolulueats October 12, 2010 at 10:12 am

      Wow – thank you for taking the interest to read and comment on this post. I was so impressed with the presentation and quality of the food, I could have gone on and on. I loved the Chef’s creative twists that made what would have otherwise been a standard banquet buffet delightfully interesting.

  2. 3 NL October 16, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Ahh…..Ai! Now I know why you were/are a terrific wedding planner/coordinator! You see the “heart” of a wedding…not so much having an all night hosted bar and delicious food. Of course, those are big pluses, but the weddings that I truly remember are the ones that you mentioned…ones that you feel like you were so blessed to be a part of two people’s most cherished and celebrated day..one that is full of love and hope for the future.

    I remember when Shayna was planning her wedding day, she insisted on having each chair covered (black chair covers with baby pink satin bows). Being budget minded, I asked her why would she want to spend so much money on just a chair cover. She told me that she wanted to make every guest feel special. I think that was accomplished!

    • 4 honolulueats October 18, 2010 at 11:36 am

      Thank you for your comment! Shayna’s reasoning for the chair covers is exactly the kind of heart the guests appreciate! If the invitations were a precursor to what the event was like, I bet Shayna’s wedding was absolutely beautiful. I can’t wait to see the pictures.

  3. 5 taroinbrisbane October 17, 2010 at 1:58 am

    Good Post!

    I had an opposite view of the chair covers though.

    I hated the concept of a typical wedding reception and wanted to do more of a larger version of a simple family dinner in a special restaurant. The chair cover was a symbol of a typical wedding reception so I strongly oppposed to having it there. Also the food was the main focus, I didnt dig the idea of a buffet and stuck to full service, the best hot food being served hot. Poor Keiko though, she could not eat the homard lobster because of changing outfits etc…

    • 6 honolulueats October 18, 2010 at 11:32 am

      Chair covers are popular and quite useful for especially hotel banquet rooms, where the hotel chairs are those ugly banquet chairs. Restaurants usually have nicer wooden chairs, which eliminates the need to cover them up. Your reception was beautiful and I did enjoy the food. You know what’s weird though is I don’t remember lobster. I remember I enjoyed the consomme soup and wedding cake the most!

  4. 7 Aloha Tony November 4, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    That looked like one amazing wedding! The first pic of the hors d’oeuvres seems like a whole meal in itself…the penne looks larger that usual hehe. By the looks of the dessert I would have ended up in a coma that night…yummy!

    • 8 honolulueats November 4, 2010 at 6:26 pm

      Hi – thank you for your comment and for visiting my blog! It was indeed a very nice wedding and I was so full I practically had to be rolled out. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Comments

Archive