Today’s Lunch

My life is all about saving money these days, so I haven’t been eating out as much. There’s a little game I play in my head called “how much would this be?” where I put a market value on a homemade meal to make myself feel proud of the $ I’m hopefully saving.

Today’s lunch: cheese sandwich with grapes, and potato chips. Let’s see…  “How much would this be” at some charming little cafe? The menu would read “Vegetarian Snack Size Combo: Half sandwich of provolone cheese, clover sprouts, vine-ripened tomatoes on whole wheat bread, served with fruit and chips.” Maybe around $4.00? Pretty boring sandwich – next time I should spruce it up with some avocado or hummus.

9 Responses to “Today’s Lunch”


  1. 1 Er August 9, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    That’s actually a pretty “fancy” sandwich! When I think “cheese sandwich” I think just bread & Kraft Singles cheese. 🙂 This has PROVOLONE cheese, sprouts (love) and tomato too! Sounds really good actually! 🙂

    $4.00 is a BIT steep tho…:P…maybe add in a drink to make a combo and I’d buy it. 😉 Ha!

  2. 3 敬子 August 9, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    オーストラリアだったらcityで$6.50かな。マスカットとクリスプスつきだしね。欲を言うとハムとか肉系のものが入ってたら売れそう。

  3. 5 Margie August 10, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    I am SIL to SIL#1 and I enjoy your blog…I check in every week. I’m visiting the Tomita family Labor Day weekend and I mentioned wanting to see you “in action”…I find your work
    very fascinating and hope to meet you in person one day – maybe at a gathering in Kaneohe or on Maui.

    • 6 honolulueats August 10, 2010 at 7:23 pm

      Hello Margie! Thank you for your comments. I thought perhaps we’ve already met, maybe at one of my nephew’s birthday parties, but if not, I look forward to meeting you too! Me “in action” is nothing interesting, as SIL#1 can tell you. It’s just me, eating, with a camera. I probably embarrass my husband when we’re eating out at a nice restaurant, shooting away with my little digital camera. 🙂 Are you going to look for more take-out containers on Oahu? Please let me know if you discover any good places.

  4. 7 せっちゃん August 10, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    おしゃれでおいしそうなサンドイッチだね。私もスプラウトのサンドイッチが大好きです。福岡のカフェで同じものを食べるとしたら$4は安すぎ!!

  5. 8 Marie August 17, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    I like the idea of putting a price tag on ate-at-home food! I am in a similar situation. 🙂

    • 9 honolulueats August 18, 2010 at 11:00 am

      Thanks for your comment! I love your blog – such beautiful pictures and your unapologetic love of pasta and other carbs! I feel the same way.


Comments are currently closed.



August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Comments

Archive


