La Mer

Hubby and I celebrated our wedding anniversary this year at La Mer, thanks to a generous gift certificate. Located in the beautiful Halekulani hotel, La Mer is a classic French restaurant and one of the proud few to be awarded the AAA Five Diamond Award in Hawaii.

Every experience at La Mer starts off with a complimentary glass of sparkling wine. For dinner we opted for the ultimate experience: the Menu Degustation ($150.00 per person), an eight course tasting menu. Hubby also added on wine pairings by the sommelier ($97.00), which after 8 courses and a dessert wine adds up to quite a lot of alcohol. Needless to say I took the keys and drove a very happy hubby home.

I had a non-alcoholic lychee cocktail which was delicious.

La Mer - Lychee Cocktail

Our amuse bouche was a refreshing and tasty Mussel Ceviche.

La Mer - Amuse Bouche of Mussel Ceviche

Since there were so many courses the dinner took over 2 hours and you’ll see the lighting change in the photos. Okay, here goes…

First course: Duo of Lobster and Green Asparagus Soup, Topped with Oeuf a la Neige (a fluff of meringue) and Aquitaine Caviar. This was so delicious. You could really taste the richness of the lobster insides (guts or brains, whatever you call it – how elegant of me) in the soup.

La Mer - Lobster and Green Asparagus Soup

Cherry Wood Smoked Foie Gras on Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Duck Jus. Foie Gras. Need I say more? I was in heaven.

La Mer - Cherry Wood Smoked Foie Gras

Poached Lamb Tongue, Gribiche Sauce (a caper vinaigrette), Green Lentil Du Puys Salad. We both love lamb and tongue, we’ve just never had lamb tongue before. It was so tender and flavorful but as I was eating it I was imagining the poor tiny lamb they must have killed to get a tongue that small (as compared to the humongous cow tongue we’re used to seeing).

La Mer - Poached Lamb Tongue

Next course: Sea Bass Meuniere on Choucroute (similar to sauerkraut) with Pork Belly, Monte Carlo Sauce and Juniper Berry. I was still thinking about that little lamb I totally forgot to take a picture of this.

Heirloom Tomato Granite with Basil Essence. I loved this intermezzo! It was so interesting, a little savory, a little sweet.

La Mer - Heirloom Tomato Granite

Filet of Natural Beef with Sautéed Morels in Madeira Cream, Petit Chantrelles and Shaved Winter Truffle.

La Mer - Filet of Natural Beef

French Cheese Selection from a rolling cart. This is my most favorite part of eating at a traditional French restaurant – the lovely cheeses at the end of your meal paired with a little fruit. I loved the assortment of hard and soft, cow, goat, and sheep’s milk cheeses that our server picked out for me.

La Mer - French Cheese Selection

Dessert was Ardeche Chestnut Confit Parfait served with Mont Blank Topped with Caramel. And a little Chestnut Profiterole on the side.

La Mer - Chestnut Confit Parfait

And for our anniversary, a surprise Halekulani Coconut Cake!

La Mer - Halekulani Coconut Cake

Because each dish was portioned just right, we left feeling very satisfied but not grossly stuffed. The food was of course delicious, but the amount of care and labor that goes into creating and executing meal like this is incredible. There was not one tiny lump in the creamy soup or soft gnocchi, and not one piece of peel on the tomato. Never did our water glasses fall half empty or did we have to ask for anything at all.

This was truly a special treat for us and we could not have asked for a more luxurious way to celebrate our anniversary.

MENU: Click here to view the menu on their website.

La Mer
Halekulani
2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
808.923.2311
Complimentary validated parking

4 Responses to “La Mer”


  1. 1 taroinbrisbane July 25, 2010 at 3:22 am

    What an indulgence galore experience… I remembered a story of our childhood when we were offered to choose what to eat for our birthdays, I opted for corn cobs and 5 pieces of thigh and drumsticks from Kentucky Fried Chicken but you at 10 years of age squeezed the parents all the way and went for a full course at a French Restaurant, what was it called, Le Coq Hardit? Anyway lots of envy from Oz.

    • 2 honolulueats July 25, 2010 at 5:53 pm

      Ha! That’s hilarious. I don’t remember the exact details, but I do remember I loved fancy food from way back then. But I love KFC too. Some thighs, corn on the cob, and mashed potatoes with gravy is a tough match for French food! I could see why you chose that.

      Some of my fondest and vivid memories are from eating experiences when I was little. I remember being struck with awe whenever I was treated to a new food I’ve never had before or a new style of dining such as Le Coq Hardit, my earliest fine dining memory.

  2. 3 Er July 25, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Way too fancy for me! :)

    Looks like it was a very nice anniversary dinner tho…

    • 4 honolulueats July 25, 2010 at 5:57 pm

      I’m with you! Had it not been for the gift certificate, I probably would’ve been foaming at the mouth when we got the check. :)


Comments are currently closed.



July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Comments

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.