Catered by Me

Last night my friend and I went over to our other friend’s place. She recently gave birth to her baby boy so we brought dinner to her and watched “The Bachelorette” on TV. Last night’s episode was particularly exciting, with the Jake vs. Vienna “interview”. More like verbal warfare. Jake sure came across as a jerk which was a total surprise since he represented himself as this sweet, respectful southern gentleman all this time. It turns out he is just a jerky “fame whore” (Vienna’s words).  Whoops, I digress. This is a food blog. 

Anyway, I made bento dinners for us: chicken karaage, croquette, potato & corn salad, spinach tamagoyaki and sausages. I found these great disposable bento containers at Flora-dec.

And for dessert my friend had picked up Lemon Crunch Cake from Diamond Head Grill (yum!) which we enjoyed with ice cream.

8 Responses to “Catered by Me”


  1. 1 Kristen July 6, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Thank you, Ai! Everything was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented! You’re amazing!

    • 2 Er July 6, 2010 at 9:28 pm

      I will second Kris’ comment! Thank you so much Ai…the bento was DELICIOUS! Seriously. And like I told you…for someone who’s pretty picky…I ATE IT ALL UP! 🙂

      Thanks again!

      • 3 honolulueats July 8, 2010 at 2:33 pm

        Thanks girls! Erin, you ate everything except the umeboshi. And did I see you also left your tomatoes too?

  2. 4 NL July 7, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Ai, I am so jealous! Lucky Kristen and Erin! Your bento looks almost too good to eat! I’m sure everything was as delicious as it was beautifully presented.

    I’ve tried for the past three years to make decent tamago for our sushi night, but I waste more egg than anything else! Your spinach tamagoyaki (what does the yaki at the end mean? I know yakisoba, yakitori, etc means some type of shoyu based sauce….did you flavor the egg with this same type of sauce?) looks so professional! How do you do it?

    • 5 honolulueats July 8, 2010 at 2:31 pm

      Yaki refers to the general method of cooking that involves fire or high heat so things like grilling, broiling, bbq-ing, or even pan-frying (as opposed to boiling, poaching, or deep-frying). For a savory tamagoyaki like this one, I cheat by seasoning it with some somen sauce but you can just use shoyu, salt, sugar, maybe a little sake or mirin and dashi. For tamagoyaki for sushi, you want to go much sweeter, and no shoyu to keep the color light. Japanese people use a rectangular tamagoyaki pan to make that perfect rectangle shape, but I don’t have one so I just use a regular non-stick frying pan. Again, I’m too lazy to follow the traditional method, but you’re supposed to keep the heat low, and add layer upon layer of raw egg and roll as you go along. So much work for one omelette!

  3. 6 Er July 9, 2010 at 8:37 am

    Ha…OK, you got me. So I didn’t eat it ALL up. But for me, that was pretty good! 😛 Sorry for not eating EVERYTHING. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Comments

Archive