Strawberry Shortcake and Coffee Jello

Tonight hubby and I are invited over to a friend’s house. They’re cooking dinner for us, so I decided to make some dessert to bring over:

Mini Strawberry Shortcake Cups. I was too lazy to make sponge cake from scratch today, so I just baked a box of yellow cake mix and layered with fresh whipped cream and diced strawberries into small plastic cups.

Coffee Jello Cups. Is this only a Japanese thing? Because if it is, it’s a shame. It’s so easy to make and delicious it should be made famous all over the world.

Recipe:

20g gelatin
200ml water
800ml water
2tbsp instant coffee
100g sugar
Dash of coffee liqueur (optional)

1. Soak gelatin in 200ml water in a bowl. Set aside.
2. Bring 800ml water and sugar to a boil. Turn off heat and stir in instant coffee. Add gelatin and stir until fully dissolved. Add liqueur (optional). Let cool.
3. Ladle into glasses and let set in refrigerator.
4. Before serving, top with vanilla ice cream or simply pour on some heavy cream (if you go with this option, I recommend increasing the amount of sugar in the recipe). Even better, pour a little Kahlua or Baileys on top of the ice cream!

6 Responses to “Strawberry Shortcake and Coffee Jello”


  1. 1 せっちゃん July 4, 2010 at 2:39 am

    すごーい、愛ちゃん!こんなにかわいくておいしそうなデザートを作れるなんて、やっぱりママのこどもだね。お土産に持っていったお友達も喜んでくださったことでしょう。ところでコーヒーゼリーってどこにでもあるものだと思っていたよ。特にハワイなんかあってトーゼン、と思っていたんだけど。でも自分で作れるからいいか!!

    • 2 honolulueats July 5, 2010 at 3:05 pm

      ありがとう!コーヒーゼリーってアジア方面の方が見かけるみたい。ベトナムとか。ハワイでは私の知る限りでは日本食レストランでしか食べられません。

  2. 3 Keith July 4, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    The coffee jello was perfect! Except I need to eat like 4 – 6 of them… I agree, it is a really simple dessert to make and it’s practically impossible to mess it up.

    • 4 honolulueats July 5, 2010 at 3:03 pm

      Aw – you’re so nice to say so. I still think it was too hard, like those “Jello jigglers” you liked as a kid. Thank you again for a beautiful dinner!

  3. 5 NL July 7, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Ai, can you convert the “g” amd “ml” measurements to tsp, tbl, etc? Sorry, I’m so old that I never learned or got use to the measurement equivalence.

    I’d love to try the recipe one day!

    • 6 honolulueats July 8, 2010 at 2:21 pm

      That’s so funny because Kristen and I had this exact same conversation the other night. Hmmm. OK, so all my recipes are in g/ml because my cookbook is Japanese, but here’s an approximate conversion. The gelatin to water ratio might be slightly off, so if you do try it let me know how it goes. My personal recommendation is to up the amount of sugar a bit and if you like softer jello, decrease the gelatin a bit too.

      3 envelopes Knox gelatin packets.
      1 cup water
      3 cups water
      1/2 cup sugar
      1 tbsp instant coffee
      dash of coffee liqueur (optional)


Comments are currently closed.



July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Comments

Archive