Vegas Eats – In-N-Out Burger

Why does everybody in Hawaii always say you have to eat at In-N-Out Burger when you’re  in the mainland? Who knows, but I kind of felt like I had to, since everyone keeps telling me to.

I know I’ve been living on an island for too long when the list of places I want to eat at on a trip consist of places I’ve seen in TV commercials but could never go to: Olive Garden, Sonic, Joe’s Crab Shack, Cici’s Pizza Buffet, etc.

We were in the Summerlin area, so we stopped for lunch at In-N-Out Burger on our way back. Here are our burgers: Hubby’s Cheeseburger “Animal Style” with grilled onions ($2.05) on the left and my cheeseburger ($2.05) on the right. I made an exception and ate meat because when else would I get to eat at In-N-Out, right?

In-N-Out Burger - Cheeseburgers ($2.05 each)

Hubby’s Fries “Animal Style” ($3.25) topped with cheese, grilled onions and thousand island sauce, and my regular Fries ($1.35) in the back of that.

In-N-Out Burger - Fries Animal Style ($3.25) and Regular ($1.35)

This “Animal Style” is one of those things on the secret menu that makes those in the know feel special, I guess. Much like the “Gummie Bear” smoothies at Jamba Juice (nothing more than a marketing ploy, if you ask me). Hubby loves secret menus.

The burgers are fresh, tasty and cheap. I thought I was a die-hard McDonald’s fan until now, but if I had a choice between McDonald’s and In-N-Out, I’d definitely go with In-N-Out. Now I’m sad we don’t have one in Hawaii… But I guess that’s part of what makes it so special.

12 Responses to “Vegas Eats – In-N-Out Burger”


  1. 1 milton June 14, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    next time try 5 Guys burgers…..also real good. milton

    • 2 honolulueats June 16, 2010 at 8:02 am

      Thank you for the tip. Don’t know the next time I’ll be on the mainland, but will keep that in mind.

  2. 3 Er June 15, 2010 at 10:15 am

    LOVE In-N-Out! Between there and Teddy’s…tough call on whose I like better. I actually would probably say In-N-Out, only because it’s more reasonable. 😛 I heard about the Animal Style, but I always forget to request that on my order!

    Everytime we go to CA/Las Vegas, we always try to eat there at least once! 😉 Glad you liked it too!

    • 4 honolulueats June 16, 2010 at 8:02 am

      Yeah, In-N-Out is cheaper than Teddy’s… Although the kid’s combo you get at Teddy’s is pretty cheap too, which is about the size of the In-N-Out burger.

  3. 5 RobynT June 15, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    Don’t go to Cici’s! And Olive Garden has mostly cream sauce so don’t go there either if you are not into that.

    • 6 honolulueats June 16, 2010 at 8:03 am

      Haha! What’s wrong with Cici’s? I was tempted when I saw one in Vegas, but just didn’t have the time. I heard Olive Garden is not that great but the commercials make it look SO good…

      • 7 Er June 17, 2010 at 8:07 am

        I like Olive Garden! Even just for the breadsticks and salad they give. 😉 The portions are pretty big tho, so we lucked out last time we went in LV…we went to eat an EARLY (like 400 pm) dinner :)…it was so early that we made it for the lunch prices/portions, which were a LOT more manageable.

        Every time we go to LV we try to go to Olive Garden since we don’t have one here. I’ve also been to the one in NY Times Square. Both good.

        You should really try it next time you go to LV!

      • 8 honolulueats June 17, 2010 at 10:36 am

        Cool! I really wanted to go during this past trip, but after the buffets I was just not in the mood for more pasta and salads. I just really wanted Asian food when I got home. Rice and kimchi.

  4. 9 RobynT June 16, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    Cici’s is okay. I mean the main draw is that it’s cheap so it’s just kind of ghetto. But I guess it’s hard to mess up pizza right? I remember thinking of it sort of like a freak show, like just trying all the weird pizzas they put out.

  5. 11 sil4 June 28, 2010 at 4:54 am

    i feel like we’re closer now that you’ve tried in-n-out! 😉 i can’t believe you didn’t try it during the wedding week. also, when did you stop eating meat?!?

    • 12 honolulueats June 29, 2010 at 8:54 am

      Hi SIL4! Yeah, we never had a chance to try it out during wedding week. Although I did really like El Pollo Loco!
      I stopped eating meat in April – strangely enough, I don’t really miss it for the most part. SO much easier than cutting sugar.


Comments are currently closed.



June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Recent Comments

Archive