Back at Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin

I went into Waikiki for lunch with some friends/former co-workers at Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin.   

I forgot to mention that I am currently eliminating meat from my diet.  I just thought I’d try it to see if it has any positive effects on my health. I eat a mostly vegetarian diet but still eat dairy, eggs, and seafood on occasion. It’s a good thing because other than pork, pork, and more pork, the only alternatives here are chicken karaage and shrimp katsu. 

I ordered the Jumbo Black Tiger Shrip Katsu-Don ($16.00) which had 2 unbelievably huge pieces of shrimp. It’s almost like they glued together the body of three shrimp to make one long shrimp. You have to see it to appreciate it. 

Ginza Bairin - Shrimp Katsu-Don ($16.00)

My friend ordered the Bairin Special Pork Tenderloin Katsu-Don ($18.00) which has a perfectly soft egg in the center so you can break the yolk and spread it all over… 

Ginza Bairin - Special Pork Tenderloin Katsu-Don ($18.00)

And her boyfriend had the Higawari Lunch Special ($13.00), which was always my favorite for its great value. Higawari means “changes everyday” and this day’s special consisted of fried eggplant, 1 piece oyster, and 2 pieces pork tenderloin.   

Ginza Bairin - Higawari Lunch Special ($13.00)

Everything was delicious. Ginza Bairin is one of the few places in Hawaii where I could actually believe I’m sitting in a restaurant in Japan. I can’t quite put my finger on it but it’s a combination of the fresh flavor, presentation, just-right portion size, service, and even the delicate way they cut their vegetables.   

You can view a previous post on the restaurant here, and view the menu on my original post here

Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin
255 Beach Walk
Honolulu, HI 96815
808.926.8082
Sun-Thu 11:00a-9:30p
Fri-Sat 11:00a-12:00a

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Comments

Archive