Onsen Ryokan

I’ll end my posts on Japan with a shot of our dinner at the Akiu Grand Hotel, a traditional onsen ryokan (hot springs inn) located in famous Akiu Onsen, about 1 hour by car from Sendai. We treated ourselves to a relaxing overnight stay of good food and hot onsen.

We took nice hot long baths in the onsen and hung out in our yukatas (robes) the entire time. Dinner was a feast featuring every dish imaginable: sashimi, personal sansai kaminabe (paper hot-pot of mountain veggies), crab and various little dishes all served in the privacy of your room. (I’d seriously hate to be the dishwasher at this establishment. Look at how many dishes there are!)

By the way, I arrived safely back in Hawaii 2 days ago and have been fighting jet lag ever since…

Akiu Grand Hotel
12-2 Biwahara, Akiyumachiyumoto
Taihakuku, Sendaishi
Miyagiken JAPAN 982-0241
022.397.3131

3 Responses to “Onsen Ryokan”


  1. 1 せっちゃん April 4, 2010 at 4:25 am

    愛ちゃん、温泉に言ったんだね。気持ちよかったでしょう?私も昨日から夫と鹿児島の指宿(いぶすき)温泉という所に行ってきましたよ。うちの夫は四月が誕生日なので、そのお祝いに温泉に行ってきたのです。私は温泉はさほど興味がないのですが夫は温泉に行きたがるのです。それで、私の好きな山歩きとセットにして温泉に行ったというわけです。まず、昨日の朝5時過ぎに福岡を出て9時過ぎにえびの高原から鹿児島と宮崎の境界にある韓国岳(からくにだけ)に登りました。山は風が冷たくて大きな大きな霜柱がたくさんたくさんありましたよ。もう四月なのにかなり冷え込んでいたのでしょうね。昼過ぎにはえびの高原に戻り、その後指宿に移動し砂蒸し風呂を体験しました。じわーっと暖められる気持ちのいい砂蒸し風呂でしたよ。私は25分間も砂に埋まって楽しみました。そして今日は知覧の特攻平和会館と武家屋敷跡を見学して帰ってきました。特攻平和会館は20才前後の若い命をお国のため、と散らせていった方々の遺書などが展示されていて、見学するには悲しいつらい場所です。教育の力の大きさ、恐ろしさを感じました。武家屋敷跡ではあちこちのお宅で庭園も開放されていたのですが、ゆっくり歩く時間がなかったので武家屋敷跡の道を歩いただけでしたが、ちょっと違った世界に迷い込んだような気持ちにさせられる空間でした。

    • 2 honolulueats April 7, 2010 at 12:57 pm

      せっちゃんの温泉旅行、楽しそうだね。違った世界に迷い込んだ気持ちが味わえるなんて素敵な旅だよね。

  2. 3 taroinbrisbane April 7, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    愛、話した例の件以降「四季の宿」にはもう行かないわけね。

    せっちゃん、知覧の平和記念館は印象的だよね。いつか子供もつれていこうと思います。鹿児島いったなら黒豚の豚しゃぶはたべなかったの?


Comments are currently closed.



April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Comments

Archive