Afternoon Tea with the Girls

This month’s get together with the girls was at our friend’s new place in Pearl City. Of course the main objective was to see her baby girl who is now almost 5 months old and absolutely adorable! Since I worked half day in the morning, she suggested an afternoon tea instead of lunch.

She brewed iced Tazo passion tea for me (caffeine free) and Tazo awake black tea.

On my plate (clockwise from top):

  • We enjoyed these mini “sandwich puffs” from Beard Papa which are sandwiches, but they’re stuffed in cream puff shells! There was chicken salad, tuna, and seafood salad.
  • Chocolate pudding cake from Safeway
  • Delicate pastries from Boulangerie (chocolate mousse with raspberry sauce, bread pudding, and pumpkin cheesecake) 
  • Blueberry scones from Sconees

Everything was so delicious and I was quite full afterwards.  

I had banned all sugars from my diet for over a year, but ever since receiving a clean bill of health from the doctor (it turns out I am not diabetic), I’ve fallen off the sugar-free wagon and I’ve been eating lots of sweets. But it seems to negatively affect my energy levels (I’m more tired and drowsy during the day) so I think it’s time for me to get back on the wagon again. With the holidays in full swing, this will be no easy task…

8 Responses to “Afternoon Tea with the Girls”


  1. 1 Er November 29, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    That was a FUN afternoon! LOVED all the goodies and LOVED seeing Makena!

  2. 2 NL December 1, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    You girls sure have fun! What a GREAT idea to have an afternoon tea! Everything on your plate looks delicious!

    How did you like the Beard Papa sandwich puffs? I’ve heard about them but never tasted them.

  3. 3 Keith December 1, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    That is so ridiculously funny that you are not diabetic after you convinced yourself that you were! I mean that in a good way…

    • 4 honolulueats December 6, 2009 at 8:26 pm

      No one will ever believe me now, but I still believe I was at least pre-diabetic at one point! I believe my drastic change in diet and exercise brouth my blood sugar levels down. I should have gotten it checked back then…

  4. 5 Kristen December 1, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    The tea was a lot of fun! I thought that the Beard Papa sandwich puffs were really good- very light and buttery. Similar to a croissant, but it seemed to hold the filling better!

    • 6 Er December 2, 2009 at 9:21 am

      I agree! Very good sandwiches, I must say! I’m still surprised that Beard Papa even HAS sandwiches like that…;-)

  5. 7 honolulueats December 6, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    I liked the Beard Papa sandwiches too. Or shall I call them puff-wiches. The shells were still crisp even though the inside was moist.


Comments are currently closed.



November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Recent Comments

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.