Peanuts 落花生

Today my dad emailed me a photo of the peanuts they harvested at 栗庵 Kurian, their vacation cottage/organic vegetable garden. I forgot peanuts grow underground! As the Japanese name for peanuts 落花生 “fallen from the flower” points out, peanut seeds start out in the flower above ground then fall and finish growing under the soil.

111509 kurian peanuts

I love seeing the various vegetables and fruits they harvest at Kurian because it reminds me of how the four seasons are so important to bringing inspiration and variety to the table.

Read an introduction to Kurian in my original post here.

3 Responses to “Peanuts 落花生”


  1. 1 papamonkey in Tokyo November 17, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Ai,Thank you for posting the photo.

  2. 2 NL November 25, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Wow! What a neat photograph! I love peanuts, but have never really seen how they grow so this was an education for me! So NEAT!

    A couple of questions for you or your father: how long does it take from planting to harvest? What other vegetables does he plant in his garden? I would LOVE to see more pictures of his harvest. Although it might make me a bit jealous, it will also serve as an inspiration to my very sad attempt at gardening! 🙂

  3. 3 papamonky November 26, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    It took around 7 months for the harvest after planting the seeds of peanuts. Other vegetables so far are pumpkin,broccoli,daikon,turnip,zuccini,and so on.
    We tried corn and tomato in vain. Good luck for your next gardening!


Comments are currently closed.



November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Recent Comments

Archive