Tenkaippin

This month’s dinner with the girls was their treat for my birthday, and I chose Tenkaippin, one of my favorite ramen places. (Actually, my first choice was Pasta Basta, but there was a last minute change of plans when we found out they closed down!

Kotteri ramen lovers on Oahu flock to Tenkaippin on Kapahulu Avenue for a taste of their famous kotteri ramen. This legendary ramen chain from Japan is a favorite pick of my brother’s (who, by the way, has a PhD in ramen-ology; check out his blog).  The soup is rich with primarily chicken and other complex flavors and it is so thick that it’s almost to the consistency of gravy. The toppings are simple: charsu, green onions and memma (flavored bamboo shoots) because the main character in this bowl is the soup.

I got the B Set ($9.95) which combines a bowl of their best-selling Kotteri Ramen and 3 pieces of Gyoza. OOOOOHHH MAN that was good.   

103009 tenkaippin kotteri

Tenkaippin - Kotteri Ramen

103009 tenkaippin gyoza

Tenkaippin - Gyoza

My friend also got the B Set ($10.15) with 3 pieces Gyoza but she chose Paitan Ramen for hers. The Paitan Ramen has a flavorful milky white broth with a hint of sesame.

103009 tenkaippin paitan

Tenkaippin - Paitan Ramen

They’re always very crowded with locals and Japanese alike so don’t be surprised if you have to wait for a table. I promise it’s worth the wait.

103009 tenkaippin exterior

OVERALL: GOOD
PRICE RANGE: Click here to view the menu
MY BILL: N/A
RETURNING?: Of course!

Tenkaippin
617 Kapahulu Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
808.732.1211
Sun-Thu 11:00a-10:00p
Fri, Sat 11:00a-11:00p

3 Responses to “Tenkaippin”


  1. 1 taroinbrisbane November 7, 2009 at 12:21 am

    Honolulu eats san, thanks for the link! I am cooking trial shoyu ramen as I write and my house is filled with chicken stock aroma. I will have a very close friend over for lunch tomorrow. I will blog about it soon!

  2. 2 Er November 7, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    I enjoyed my B set with the Paitan ramen. The garlic chips in there were a BIT strong…but other than that, it was good!

    How lucky we were able to get one of the very few tables they have in there! Like you said, the time we went, we probably missed the “rush” crowd…so it worked out well!

    Hope you enjoyed your birthday dinner (altho it was your 2nd choice! :-p)!

  3. 3 honolulueats November 8, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    Taro: Can’t wait to taste your ramen!!

    Er: Your paitan ramen was good too, but I did see you fishing out those garlic chips. Thanks again for dinner!


Comments are currently closed.



November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archive