Maui Eats – Lunch at Dad’s

After resting overnight, we continued our eat-a-thon with lunch at Dad’s before heading to the airport for our return flight. He is also a fantastic cook and had a gorgeous spread of food prepared for us. A typical day at Dad’s consists of eating, playing cards (rich man poor man is our game of choice) and then eating some more.

Clockwise from top left: Potato Salad, Fried Wontons, BBQ Ribs, King Crab Legs and Dungeness Crab, Char Siu Pork and Veggie Stir Fry

101809 dad spread

The crab was a real treat because that’s something I would never buy for myself or order at a restaurant because it’s so expensive. I can’t even remember the last time I had crab legs…

How much weight can you gain from just one weekend? I’m about to find out…

6 Responses to “Maui Eats – Lunch at Dad’s”


  1. 1 taroinbrisbane October 27, 2009 at 3:23 am

    すごい御馳走だね。ライアンもそうだけどハワイの人は蟹好きなのかな?

  2. 2 Er October 27, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Sounds like you had a great Maui vacation…all those good eats!

  3. 3 RobynT October 29, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    whoa, haven’t played rich man poor man in so long but i remember really liking that game! kea and i often play card with his dad too, but usually suipi/sweepie or dominoes.

  4. 4 honolulueats October 29, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Er: Yes, it was a fun weekend. See you tomorrow!

    Taro: Doesn’t everyone love crab? To me, because it’s expensive, it’s one of those foods that’s “special”.

    Robyn: Hey, we should play cards the next time we see each other (while everyone else sings Karaoke)! 🙂

  5. 5 Margie November 3, 2009 at 8:57 am

    Your Dad lives on Maui? I’m SIL#1’s SIL and I live on Maui. Your Dad’s food looks really good – especially the won ton – I have a weakness for anything crispy and fried.

    • 6 honolulueats November 3, 2009 at 9:09 pm

      Whoops, sorry, I should clarify: Dad is my Father in Law (FIL). Sorry for the confusion, since I refer to him as FIL in my other posts. I’m just so used to calling him Dad. My real mom and dad are both in Japan.


Comments are currently closed.



October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Comments

Archive