Home Lunch

I have been on a tight budget this pay period and trying not to eat out as much, thus the blog hiatus (that and I’ve been super busy). If I don’t eat out, I guess I don’t have much else to write about but what I eat at home. As busy people, most of our meals at home are so simple and nothing to write about.

Take lunch today for example:

Somen with green onions and ginger.

100409 lun somen

I also made a tempura out of a beautiful bag of okra I bought at Don Quijote. (Okra is also great mixed with natto).

100409 lun okra

I discovered today that if I want my hubby to eat vegetables, JUST DEEP FRY THEM.

9 Responses to “Home Lunch”


  1. 1 Kristen October 4, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Ai- I enjoy reading about what you eat at home just as much as I enjoy reading about what you eat out. In fact, I think I like looking at your beautiful homemade lunches/dinners even more! The somen and tempura look delicious! Do you use a particular tempura brand batter? What about the somen sauce and noodles? Any in particular?

  2. 3 RobynT October 5, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    I’m interested in how you make your tempura too! My dad is trying to make tempura but he can’t get the batter as light as he wants it.

  3. 4 RobynT October 5, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    btw, where would you say is the best place to get tempura in hawai’i? how about soba? my family watches soko ga shiritai every night and makes us want to eat japanese food.

  4. 5 honolulueats October 6, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Thanks for your comments everyone!

    My favorite place for soba is Matsugen (in Waikiki, on Beach Walk) or Inaba (on S. King St. by the corner of S. King and Punahou). These soba places also make good tempura too. I haven’t been there in a long time, but Tokyo Tokyo (in the Kahala Hotel) made good tempura too. I like a light batter too.

    For my tempura batter, I mix flour and a little corn starch with cold water. If you like light batter, don’t make the batter too thick. When heating the oil, my mom said to try a drop of batter and if it hits the bottom and then immediately rises up while fizzing, it’s at the right temperature.

    Now I’m hungry for tempura soba!

  5. 9 Er October 9, 2009 at 8:43 am

    OMG…I love NOODLES in general…and soba is one of them. I love it when my grandma makes soba for us…I usually prefer it hot, but cold is good too. Going to Matsugen next week, so I’ll let you know how I like it there!


Comments are currently closed.



October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Comments

Archive