Jook

Ugh. Just got my wisdom teeth pulled and am restricted to a liquid diet. My dentist said “for the first few days, you’re going to be eating a lot of yogurt, ice cream, and pudding”, but no can since those items are all loaded with sugar.

So I made one of my favorite dishes: jook (Chinese rice porridge). This is a must-have dish for local people after Thanksgiving Day, utilizing the leftover turkey bones. Every culture has their version of porridge (okayu, cream of wheat, etc.) but I think this is my favorite.

The recipe is very simple: 10 Cups water to 1 cup uncooked rice, sliced ginger, a whole turkey or chicken carcass (I just buy a whole roasted chicken from Foodland, let my husband eat the meat, and use the bones), salt. Throw in a pot and simmer for 2 hours. Garnish with chopped green onions and Chinese parsley. I like mine drizzled with a little sesame oil.

091109 jook

Every time I’m sick or have oral surgery, I sincerely appreciate all aspects of my health that allow me to enjoy my passion: food. I’m thankful for my functioning taste buds, my sense of smell, my teeth and jaws to chew, and my healthy appetite.

2 Responses to “Jook”


  1. 1 Kristen September 12, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Yea! The wisdom teeth are out! The ONLY good thing about getting all 4 of mine pulled (2 times, 2 at a time) was the big pot of my mom’s special jook that she made me. Delicious!! Yours looks so comforting as well!

  2. 2 honolulueats September 13, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Kristen: I guess “Yea” is the word… While I was on the laughing gas, I kept thinking of your story about your life-changing, out-of-body experience, but it didn’t happen for me! I was a little giggly, and I just kept thinking about how my experience compared to yours, and to Er’s, who said “you just don’t care about anything that’s going on”. Your mom’s jook must be DELICIOUS. The real deal.


Comments are currently closed.



September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Recent Comments

Archive