Back at Raraya

Yup. Still DELICIOUS.

Raraya - Shoyu Tonkotsu Ramen ($8.00)

Raraya - Shoyu Tonkotsu Ramen ($8.00)

Shoyu Tonkotsu Ramen ($8.00) with thin noodles. I’m so glad they decided to offer a thin noodle option. Their thin noodles are still not as thin as I prefer (it’s actually more like regular noodles), but it’s much better than the thick noodles I had the first time around.

Hubby had the Shoyu Tonkotsu Ramen ($8.00) with thin noodles, and added on the gyoza set ($4.00) with 3 pieces gyoza, rice, and kimchee.

Raraya - Ramen ($8.00) and Gyoza Set ($4.00)

Raraya - Ramen ($8.00) and Gyoza Set ($4.00)

This is the third visit to my new favorite ramen place. About once a month I get the craving for a rich, kotteri ramen, and once I get a craving, I’ve learned that it simply won’t go away until it’s satisfied. 

They were very crowded on a weeknight, and we actually had to wait for a table. In addition, they were all out of the delicious eggs and my hubby’s bowl of rice was their last bowl. I was so sad I didn’t get to eat my favorite egg, but I’m happy that this place is doing so well! Behold, the power of word of mouth.

You can view the menu and store details on my previous post.

8 Responses to “Back at Raraya”


  1. 1 sachiko September 11, 2009 at 6:54 am

    wow!!!! didnt know they added thin noodles as a new option.

    now i have to go back with ryan.

    thanks for the info!

    • 2 honolulueats September 12, 2009 at 9:43 am

      Actually, it’s not really the hosomen I like, but it’s much thinner than those “udon” noodles we had. I’m stuck in a ramen phase too – gotta go to Tenkaippin next.

  2. 3 TNS SWR September 11, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Actually a lot of people are now talking about Raraya. A few of my swimmers are always wanting to go and a few of my co-workers who love Tenkaiipin are thinking about being Raraya fans.

    • 4 honolulueats September 12, 2009 at 9:44 am

      I thought perhaps it might bee too oily to appeal to some people, but it seems like it’s a hit among the locals too!

  3. 5 NL September 12, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Kristen and I have been back several times already. We always use the coupon for a free add on. She gets double order of the egg and I usually get char siu (I love the smokey taste of their char siu, very different from any other place that I’ve had it) and menma (bamboo shoots).

    I get the less salty and less oily with the thin noodles and it still tastes great! I have never been able to finish the whole bowl so I take home a small serving to have the next day….bonus! The soup somehow becomes more concentrated overnight so I have to add a little water so it’s not too salty. Some people might not mind, but I have this thing about things being too salty. 🙂

  4. 6 honolulueats September 13, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    NL: I’m thinking of trying the chicken ramen next. Like you, I can never finish the whole bowl, so I take the leftovers home too. Crazy how the whole thing becomes a solid block of collagen and fat in the fridge. What paper do you find the coupon in?

  5. 7 NL September 22, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    I’m sorry for not responding sooner! Kristen mentioned that you asked where the coupon can be found. They have it in the advertiser every OTHER week on Friday’s TGIF pullout and Sunday’s Dining Out section. It’s due to come out this weekend (Sept. 25, 27). If you don’t take the advertiser, I can always give you the coupon since we usually use just one per month. Let me know if you want one and I can either mail it to you or get it to you via Kristen if you’re meeting for a girl’s night out.

    Even though I don’t always comment, I read every single one of your entries and really love the pictures and personal commentary on the dishes! You’re doing such a great job!

    • 8 honolulueats September 23, 2009 at 9:08 am

      Thanks for the info. Yes unfortunately I do not get the Advertiser. Only if you have unused coupons and I happen to see Kristen soon, I would definitely love a coupon. But no need to go through the trouble of mailing it to me. Thank you so much!


Comments are currently closed.



September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Recent Comments

Archive