Lunch at Royal Hawaiian Center Food Court

Did you know there’s a food court in the Royal Hawaiian Center? It’s located on the second floor and is a brand new, open air food court called Pa’ina Lanai. The tenants are pretty much all your food court usual suspects plus a few I’ve never seen before:

  • Yummy Korean BBQ
  • Panda Express (Chinese)
  • Sbarro (pizza)
  • Paradise Cafe (salads, sandwiches)
  • Ezogiku (Japanese food like ramen, oyakodon)
  • Tacone Flavor Grill (salads, burgers, wraps)
  • Monkey’s (I forgot what this was)
  • Kenny’s Hawaiian BBQ Express
  • The Grove Bar (a fenced off area serving alcohol)

There are several places that offer similar things: sandwiches, wraps, and build-your-own salads.

Here’s a Taco & Enchilada Combo Plate from Maui Tacos ($8.95). What sold me on this place is the self-serve salsa bar with 5 different types of salsa, chopped onions, lime wedges, pickled jalapenos, and cilantro (my favorite!!).

Maui Tacos - Taco & Enchilada Combo ($8.95)

Maui Tacos - Taco & Enchilada Combo ($8.95)

Here’s an Angus Burger Panini with Sweet Potato Fries ($11.98) from Tacone Flavor Grill. This place also has a self-serve sauce bar with Buttermilk Ranch, Cilantro Lime, and Chipotle BBQ Sauce. The Cilantro Lime Sauce was REALLY good.

Tacone Flavor Grill - Angus Burger Panini ($11.98)

Tacone Flavor Grill - Angus Burger Panini ($11.98)

I love condiments because you get to enjoy your food in different variations many times over depending on the sauce you use. Plus, I feel like I got more value with all the “freebies”. I was always mad at McDonald’s for charging me 25 cents for BBQ sauce, and I was disappointed at Jack (in the box) when he recently started charging me for his buttermilk ranch sauce. I believed in Jack! Oh well, times are tough I guess… 

Just show me an eatery with a free condiment bar and I’m drawn to it like a fool … (It’s gotta be good stuff though, not just ketchup and mustard). For this reason I’m in love with Arby’s, El Pollo Loco in the mainland, and now Maui Tacos and Tacone Flavor Grill. If anyone knows of any places with an awesome condiment bar, please do share.

Pa’ina Lanai Food Court
2nd Floor, Royal Hawaiian Center
2201 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
808.922.2299

5 Responses to “Lunch at Royal Hawaiian Center Food Court”


  1. 1 SwmrsRl August 2, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    That was a good lunch wasn’t it. Can’t wait for another lunch date.

  2. 2 Er August 2, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    As I think you already know, I like NEVER go to Waikiki…If anything, only when we get together for our GNOs or for a special occasion. ;-) One day I’ll have to make it a trip and go down there…just ’cause…:-) Thanks for the tip of this food court! Seems like it pretty much has ALL the different food types!

  3. 3 sachiko August 3, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    i love that food court!
    when i go, i usually go for enchiladas too.

    i love taco del mar too. at windward.

  4. 4 NL August 6, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Ai, a great condiment bar is at Caliente del Sol in the Kapahulu Safeway complex. They serve mexican food. Ask Kris about it….we sat there waiting for our order and had ourselves a “salsa buffet”….Shayna was so embarrassed by the both of us saying “It’s not supposed to be your MEAL!”, but it was so delicious and we were starving! There was a fresh mango/pineapple salsa, a cilantro one, a fresh tomatoes one and a couple of others. I haven’t been there for a while, but I’m planning to go there next week with a friend so I’ll tell you if it’s still the same. The fish enchiladas with spicy lobster sauce is delicious. It cost $3.89. We also liked the rib eye steak quesalillas. Check out their web site and see if you would want to try it and blog about it.

    • 5 honolulueats August 8, 2009 at 9:36 am

      Oooh thanks for the tip! I’m picturing the two of you there with your “salsa buffet” and Shayna scolding you – that’s so funny!! I love anything that’s free and self serve – it’s my own personal buffet! I’ll have to try there soon.


Comments are currently closed.



August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Comments

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.