Family Dinner

My husband’s brother just “PhinisheD” his PhD program and is back home for a short while, relaxing before life takes him and his wife around the world on all sorts of exciting new endeavors. My mother-in-law flew in from Maui, and we gathered at SIL (Sister-in-law) #1’s house to celebrate in his honor. (SIL #1 is also a university professor – I married into a family of geniuses!)

071109 family din

On my plate, from top:

  • Pork chop with homemade mushroom gravy, made by SIL #2
  • Green salad with blue cheese, made by my husband
  • Orzo pasta salad with fresh parsley, made by SIL #1
  • Char-grilled eggplant and zucchini, made by SIL#1’s husband (which would make him… BIL#1?)
  • Grilled sausage

And a beautiful chocolate cake presented with a song of “For He’s a Jolly Good Fellow”, later served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I think the 3 nephews were confused because there were no birthday candles on the cake to blow out…

071109 family cake

4 Responses to “Family Dinner”


  1. 1 Sister-in-law #1 July 16, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    I love these records of our family get-togethers! It’s like we could do a whole photo album on food! I loved that turkey dinner in January.

  2. 2 T July 22, 2009 at 2:30 am

    Looks yummy!

    How is pork in Hawaii, ever get the ammonia smell?

    I think I found a good supplier for pork in OZ. These guys grow their pork completely organically free grazing and the important part is they castrate the male piglets. Looking fwd to trying their stuff.

    • 3 honolulueats July 23, 2009 at 9:09 pm

      I’m glad to know the family is all safe and back in Australia. Sounds like everything is progressing smoothly!! I can’t wait to taste your ramen. (Why does castrating the male piglets make for tastier pork? Does is have to do with the amount of testosterone?)

      • 4 T July 29, 2009 at 3:16 pm

        I dont know what the biological theory is but males stink. When you look around in the human world too, it’s pretty straight fwd dont you think?


Comments are currently closed.



July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Comments

Archive