Breakfast at Big City Diner

This week we received the joyful news that my girlfriend gave birth to her first baby girl! The girls and I quickly scheduled a visit to the hospital to meet the little one. But since visiting hours at the hospital started at 11:00am, we decided to head to breakfast at Big City Diner first.

I like to come here for breakfast for one thing only: Grandma’s Kimchee Fried Rice with Eggs ($8.99). I was disappointed to see they scaled back on the portion size (it used to be twice this size – no kidding), but it’s still the same great flavor, filled with more “stuff” than rice, and topped off with a little kimchee. I think they use some brown rice too, which adds a nice texture.

Big City Diner - Kimchee Fried Rice ($8.99)

Big City Diner - Kimchee Fried Rice ($8.99)

But I was also in the mood for some pancakes, so I ordered the Big Pancake Sandwich ($7.99) and split this and the kimchee fried rice with my friend. 2 Large pancakes are served with 2 eggs, 2 sausage, and 2 bacon.

Big City Diner - Pancake Sandwich ($7.99)

Big City Diner - Pancake Sandwich ($7.99)

My other friend had the same thing too, but with scrambled eggs instead.

Big City Diner - Pancake Sandwich ($7.99)

Big City Diner - Pancake Sandwich ($7.99)

All in all, the food is good, but this is not my top choice for breakfast for several reasons. One, the pancakes are not as good as Wailana’s. Two, for the price, they offer nothing out of the ordinary. If I’m paying $8-9 for breakfast, I’d rather go to IHOP where they have all kinds of pancakes, crepes and stuffed french toasts. So I guess to summarize, here are my top breakfast choices broken out by price range:

  • Under $5: McDonald’s!
  • Under $6: Wailana’s
  • $7-10: IHOP
  • Over $10: Somewhere with a view like Plumeria Beach House,  Orchids, or Longhi’s.

But, for that occasional craving for kimchee fried rice, only Big City Diner will do. Good thing it’s available during lunch and dinner too. The restaurant is also very family friendly, with large comfortable dining booths and a special keiki menu.  

By the way, we “aunties” had a blast visiting our friend’s new baby. Born on July 4th, she entered the world with a firework show in her honor. Congratulations to the new mommy and daddy!

OVERALL: OK
PRICE RANGE: $6.99-$10.99. Visit their website here to view the entire menu.
MY BILL: $14.00
RETURNING?: Probably

Big City Diner
(5 Locations on Oahu including):
Ward Entertainment Center
1060 Auahi Street
Honolulu, HI 96814
808.591.8891
Sun-Thu 7:00a-10:00p
Fri&Sat 7:00a-12:00a

4 Responses to “Breakfast at Big City Diner”


  1. 1 Eugene Kam July 11, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Yes, more carbs please! Oink Oink

  2. 2 Er July 11, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    My pancake sandwich was reall good! The pancakes were quite fluffy and tasty. It was a lot of food! Too much, in fact, that I was able to save some for breakfast another day! Amazingly, that was the first time I had been to BCD for breakfast!

  3. 3 sachiko July 14, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    my favorite is ihop or
    cafe kaila at market city.

  4. 4 Keith July 17, 2009 at 12:30 am

    Reading your review made me crave pancakes…. for dinner.

    I’m a Mililani boy. Anna Millers gets my breakfast/pancake vote. And the waitresses uniforms are sometimes a bonus!


Comments are currently closed.



July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archive