Nico’s Pier 38

Quite  a while ago, my coworker told me how good the fish & chips from Nico’s is, and I’ve been wanting to try it ever since but I could never figure out where it was! I happened to discover their modest sign while driving on Nimitz Highway recently and finally went for lunch with my husband.  You can turn into Pier 38 (across from Nimitz Business Center) and drive towards the ocean, and you’ll find ample free parking for Nico’s and the neighboring restaurant Uncle’s.

063009 nicos exterior

Apparently everyone else on the island already knew where Nico’s was; the casual take-out style restaurant was busy for lunch with a constant crowd of locals coming in. You order your food at this counter here and are given a buzzer to notify you when your food is ready, but the food comes out fairly quickly. There’s shaded seating at the restaurant, or pier front picnic tables.

063009 nicos counter

063009 nicos pier

My husband had the generously portioned Furikake Pan Seared Ahi ($9.20) served with their house ginger garlic cilantro dip (yum!), rice and choice of mac salad or Nalo green salad. They ask you how you want your ahi done, just like a steak. I usually prefer to eat my ahi raw because ahi tends to be dry when cooked, but this one (ordered medium) was fresh, juicy, and tender.

Nico's - Furikake Pan Seared Ahi ($9.20)

Nico's - Furikake Pan Seared Ahi ($9.20)

Of course I had their Fish & Chips ($8.70), a large piece of swordfish in a crispy beer batter crust served with french fries, vinegar and ginger garlic cilantro dip. Swordfish is another fish that can tend to be dry, but this one was moist and very soft. I thoroughly enjoyed my fish & chips, alternating dipping between classic vinegar and their delicious garlic ginger dip.

Nico's - Fish & Chips ($8.70)

Nico's - Fish & Chips ($8.70)

There’s not too many places with good fish & chips in Hawaii, so I was delighted to experience Nico’s for myself.  Chef Nico is French with previous fine dining experience at Michel’s and the Bistro and Century Center, but his menu at Nico’s is totally local. In addition to their specialty, fresh fish, they have local favorites like chicken katsu, loco moco, and beef stew plates.

OVERALL: GOOD
PRICE RANGE: $7.25-$9.20 for all plate lunches. Click here to view the menu.
MY BILL: $20.68 for two
RETURNING?:Definitely, to try the Poke Salad and Fried Ahi Belly next.

Nico’s Pier 38
Pier 38 Waterfront
1133 N. Nimitz Highway
Honolulu, HI 96817
808.540.1377
Mon-Fri 6:30a-5:00p
Sat 6:30a-2:30p

3 Responses to “Nico’s Pier 38”


  1. 1 Eugene Kam July 11, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Fish and chips- my fav

  2. 2 ricardo July 20, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    My wife and I were talking about Nico’s just last week, and then I read your blog on Friday night. So we counted it as a sign and tried it on Saturday. So good. The wife had fish & chips and it was cooked perfectly. Because you said you wanted to try the fried ahi belly, I tried it and it was so tasty! Cooked perfectly. Neither of us left feeling with that “I just ate fried food feeling.” Good call.

    • 3 honolulueats July 23, 2009 at 9:07 pm

      Ooh cool! I’m glad to hear the ahi belly was good. Nico’s was featured on “Cheap Eats” on one of the local news channels recently too.


Comments are currently closed.



July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Comments

Archive