Restaurant Suntory

We took my coworker out to lunch for her birthday to Restaurant Suntory, located in the Royal Hawaiian Center. When asked where she wanted to go, she already knew exactly the place and even what she wanted to eat there.

Suntory is an authentic Japanese restaurant serving traditional Japanese items like sashimi, tempura and tofu, but they also have a teppanyaki section serving up grilled steaks and seafood prepared before your eyes. While dinner can be quite expensive, you can enjoy the same quality food for much more reasonable prices during lunch. Their daily lunch special “Higawari Teishoku” ($12.00) and Teppanyaki Special Lunch ($12.00) are, in my opinion, the best values.

Our server informed us that today’s special was マグロやまかけ (maguro yamakake, raw ahi with grated mountain yam) and vegetable tempura. Yes! I was sold. My plate came with rice, miso soup, and tsukemono.

Suntory - Daily Lunch Special ($12.00)

Suntory - Daily Lunch Special ($12.00)

The birthday girl got her favorite Teppanyaki dish: Teriyaki Chicken ($12.00), served with rice, miso soup, tsukemono, and a salad (not pictured).

Suntory - Teriyaki Chicken ($12.00)

Suntory - Teriyaki Chicken ($12.00)

My other coworker got her favorite as well: Teriyaki Chicken with Shrimp ($17.00).

Suntory - Chicken and Shrimp ($17.00)

Suntory - Chicken and Shrimp ($17.00)

We come here often and I always love the food, although the portion sizes are not so large. I feel like I’m back in Japan and I know fellow Japanese feel the same way because the restaurant is always filled with them (mostly Waikiki travel agents) during lunchtime. I feel so lucky to live in Hawaii where authentic Japanese food is so readily available. Since food is such a huge part of my culture, it really helps me to not feel as homesick as I would imagine I’d feel if I lived in, for example, Wyoming. 

OVERALL: GOOD
PRICE RANGE: Click to view the lunch menu here and the dinner menu here
MY BILL: $23.00 including the my share of the birthday girl’s meal
RETURNING?: Yes

Restaurant Suntory
(Currently 4 hrs free parking with validation)
Royal Hawaiian Center, Third level
2233 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
808.922.5511
Mon-Fri 11:30a-1:30p lunch, 5:30p-9:30p dinner
Sat, Sun 12:00p-2:00p lunch, 5:30p-9:30p dinner

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Comments

Archive