Lin’s Hawaiian Snacks

061809 lins exterior

Recently opened on May 1st at the Ala Moana Shopping Center is Lin’s Hawaiian Snacks, a delightful gallery of any kind local snacks you can think of. It’s a cross between a crack seed store and candy store – they have the hugest selection of li hing mui I’ve ever seen, and lots of seafood items (dried cuttlefish, dried scallops), candies, kakimochi/arare, dried fruits, and even things like garlic chips and vegetables chips.

What I love is that each item is packaged in small bags, so you can get many different items without spending too much. This is THE PLACE for all of your omiyage needs for friends and family outside of Hawaii.

061809 lins interior

For these crack seed items priced by the pound, the friendly store clerk told me to let him know if there’s anything I wanted to sample. Hurray for free samples (the peach strip was really good)!

061809 lins jars

 

Lin’s Hawaiian Snacks
Ala Moana Shopping Center
Ground level, ocean side
(Former site of Compleat Kitchen, next to Slipper House)
808.593.8611

6 Responses to “Lin’s Hawaiian Snacks”


  1. 1 Er June 21, 2009 at 10:51 am

    So this doesn’t replace that OTHER crack seed store at Ala Moana? The one that was near HIC and the old pet store…? This one definitely looks more modern and cute. Crack seed is kinda subjective…really depends on the place and your own taste on whether or not a certain place has GOOD seed. Personally I’m not a big seed fan, so I wouldn’t have much of an opinion. :-p

  2. 2 Kristen June 21, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    I was wondering the same thing. The old crack seed store was cute, too. They had slushies. I do like crack seed, but somehow only crave it when I see it. Ai, what’s your favorite type of snack food they sell?

  3. 3 honolulueats June 22, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Hi Girls – I don’t remember that other crack seed store you’re talking about. Actually, very vaguely now that you mention it… I don’t know if that’s still there or not. This new store apparently moved over from Ward Farmer’s Market. They have fresh li hing fruits and also flavored cotton candy. They might have had slushies too. I like chocolate covered gummy bears, and li hing mango, but there’s so many things I’ve never tried, so I’ll have to stop by for a free sample every time I pass by!

  4. 4 Er June 22, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Hey, I noticed you added the “recent comments” widget to your blog now! Cool! Makes it easy now to know which posts have been updated!🙂

  5. 5 Er June 22, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    Now that you mentioned the Farmer’s Market, I do remember Lin’s there. Didn’t realize they weren’t still at the FM. I’m thinking the other crackseed store is still there @ Ala Moana…altho I haven’t been down that strip in quite a while, so who knows…

  6. 6 sil4 July 8, 2009 at 11:01 am

    i haven’t been on here in awhile and i’m loving the new “snapshots” function. on the nico’s write-up i could see the menu as a pdf. very cool!


Comments are currently closed.



June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archive