Cheeseburger in Paradise

On day 2 of our “staycation”, we were lucky enough to get a 3pm late check-out at the Hyatt, so we slept in and enjoyed our time in Waikiki. We walked a few short blocks from the hotel to Cheeseburger in Paradise for round two of our comfort food fix.

061409 cheeseburger exterior

Our hostess who greeted us looked about 60 years old but was ROCKIN’ a short short grass hula skirt (which obviously is the required uniform at this restaurant, but grandma gets the award for pulling it off the best). She flashed us a smile and quickly led us through the fake tiki huts and palm trees to our table. I must say the service here was excellent. Our server was also friendly and super quick with the drink refills.

My friend who had the Loco Moco the night before at MAC 24-7 ordered a Loco Moco ($11.95) again for comparison. I tried a bite of her Loco Moco and it was delicious! I guess it makes sense that a burger restaurant makes good beef patties. She said the patty was better here, but the gravy was better at MAC 24-7.

Cheeseburger in Paradise - Loco Moco ($)

Cheeseburger in Paradise - Loco Moco ($11.95)

My other friend had the Royal Ali’i Cheeseburger ($9.95) topped with bacon and a fried egg.

Cheeseburger in Paradise - Royal Ali'i ($9.95)

Cheeseburger in Paradise - Royal Ali'i ($9.95)

Another girl had the Guacamole Cheeseburger ($9.95).

Cheeseburger in Paradise - Guacamole Cheeseburger ($9.95)

Cheeseburger in Paradise - Guacamole Cheeseburger ($9.95)

I had the Black N Blue Cheeseburger ($9.95) topped with crumbled blue cheese. I do love my blue cheese…

Cheeseburger in Paradise - Black N Blue Cheeseburger ($9.95)

Cheeseburger in Paradise - Black N Blue Cheeseburger ($9.95)

Here’s a cross section of my burger…

061409 cheeseburger cross

and the basket of fries ($4.75) we shared…

Cheeseburger in Paradise - Seasoned Fries ($4.75)

Cheeseburger in Paradise - Seasoned Fries ($4.75)

All cheeseburgers are served with thousand island dressing, lettuce and tomatoes but there’s also ketchup and mustard available at your table. I prefer the burgers here to Islands, hands down. The beef patty was the softest and juiciest I’ve had in a really long time. I don’t know how they get it to be that soft – I couldn’t see any trace of “fillers” in the patty.  I’m convinced they use ground beef that’s 50% fat.

Side Note: If you purchase their souvenir pineapple drink container for $7.00, you get free soda refills any time you want. That’s not just today – you can come back just to get soda again and again, and you don’t have to order anything. Is that crazy or what? If you work around here, you must take advantage of this offer – that is if you don’t mind carrying a bright yellow plastic pineapple to work everyday.

OVERALL: GOOD
PRICE RANGE: $8.95-13.95 for cheeseburgers, $10.25-14.95 for salads, $4.75 for fries. Click here to view the menu.
MY BILL: $15.00
RETURNING?: Yes

Cheeseburger in Paradise
2500 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
808.923.3731

Sun-Thu 7:00a-11:00p (breakfast until 11:00a)
Fri, Sat: 7:00a-12:00a (breakfast until 11:00a)

1 Response to “Cheeseburger in Paradise”


  1. 1 Er June 19, 2009 at 8:16 am

    I remember going to Cheeseburger in Paradise a long time ago, and I wasn’t impressed. This time around I actually like it a lot better! My burger (the Ali’i burger) was really yummy…the thing I liked most was that the burger wasn’t dry AT ALL. Really moist, but it was cooked really well too (not pink at all!)!

    Totally would’ve taken advantage of that pineapple deal (you know I love my Coca-Cola…)…if only I worked/lived NEAR that place! Only makes sense to do it if you can actually GO BACK often to get the soda! Oh well…it’s still a cool deal.


Comments are currently closed.



June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Comments

Archive