Fresh Idea for Table Centerpieces

In addition to food, event design/party planning is also one of my passions. I was debating between keeping my blog posts strictly about food, but I guess it’s my blog so I can write about whatever I want.  

When throwing a party, I think food & beverage and good company are the two most important things. But not to be forgotten are the decor and ambience of the room. I love event design, especially when it’s done for little $.

Here’s an idea for table centerpieces I used for sister-in-law #4′s bridal shower last year: simple arrangements of white hydrangea accented with fresh potted herbs.  Hydrangea (purchased from Watanabe Floral) are great because you get so much volume from just one stem.

071108 shower decor1

Potted herbs were around $1.30 each from a garden store, and I just pulled them out and stuck them in square glass vases from Flora-Dec.  Total cost for centerpieces: around $70.00.

071108 shower decor overall

The best part is guests can take home the fresh herbs as favors. It’s fun to offer various herbs so your guests can choose (for this event I went with dill, mint, and oregano). You can label them by simply handwriting the herb name onto wooden popsicle sticks.

071108 shower decor closeup

5 Responses to “Fresh Idea for Table Centerpieces”


  1. 1 RobynT June 13, 2009 at 4:23 am

    awesome! now i know which # one of your sister-in-laws is!

  2. 2 NL June 14, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Ai, the table setting is gorgeous! Simple, yet elegant. You have great ideas and I’m glad you’re sharing them with all of us. Everything matched really well and I love favors that not only look nice, but are practical, too. Was her wedding color green? I love that shade that was used for the runner and napkins. Can’t wait to see and hear some of your other event designs!

  3. 3 Er June 15, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Yes, you can totally write about whatever you want! It’s YOUR blog! ;-) Go for it!

    So beautiful…Love that green color!

  4. 4 Kristen June 15, 2009 at 9:57 am

    I LOVE your centerpieces! The herb idea is fantastic, and SO pretty in the glass square vases.

  5. 5 Sister-in-law #1 June 15, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    The herbs were very pretty and I loved having oregano in my omelets. I didn’t know oregano goes with eggs!
    But it was a really breathtaking table!
    Mom enjoys pretty things so I’m glad she got to go to this shower.


Comments are currently closed.



June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Comments

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.