Breakfast for One

On a regular day, I’m usually in such a hurry to get out the door in the morning that breakfast is usually a cheese sandwich at my desk at work. That’s why I really appreciate being able to take time to enjoy a good breakfast on my day off. I use this time to plan out my day.

060909 breakfast

On my plate this morning is a toasted English muffin with a poached egg and arabiki sausage, tomato salad with homegrown arugula (with my homemade garlic basil vinaigrette), and fresh blueberries.

What a beautiful day! Now I’m off to do laundry and run errands…

8 Responses to “Breakfast for One”


  1. 1 Er June 9, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    OMG…Your meal looks like something you’d order from room service! Looks so profesional! I would never make something that looked that good for breakfast…even on my day off! 😛

  2. 2 Kristen June 9, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Ai, this looks DELICIOUS! Can I have the recipe for your garlic basil vinaigrette? I have basil growing and would love to try your recipe!

    • 3 honolulueats June 10, 2009 at 8:07 pm

      The vinaigrette is super easy: saute garlic cloves in olive oil (low heat) until they’re soft. I think you could roast them in the oven too. Then in a bowl put the garlic and olive oil, some more olive oil, vinegar, fresh basil leaves, salt, pepper, and blend away with a hand blender if you have, or just do it in the regular blender. I actually added a little too water because I like a thinner consistency. The blender helps the whole thing emulsify into a creamy texture.

  3. 4 Kristen June 10, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Thanks for the recipe! I can’t wait to try it!

  4. 5 RobynT June 11, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    I agree! Looks so professional! And healthy too. Wow… honestly, I find your cheese sandwich breakfast pretty inspiring too. I need to do more savory and protein-loaded breakfasts!

    • 6 honolulueats June 12, 2009 at 9:34 pm

      Hi Robyn! I know… breakfast foods tend to be loaded with sugar or fat. Cheese sandwiches sometimes get boring though.

  5. 7 sachi June 15, 2009 at 2:00 am

    i also like to make chopitto kotta and/or oshare na breakfast.
    it makes you enjoy the relaxing morning time that you dont get to have on a working day.

  6. 8 honolulueats June 16, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Sachi: totally. I was reading your blog, and am so jealous that you got to try that Indian restaurant.


Comments are currently closed.



June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Comments

Archive