Summer Rolls at Home

Boy do I love summer rolls! They’re healthy, super easy to make at home, and you can put anything you want in them. Today we went with shrimp summer rolls, but you can prepare a whole variety of ingredients like chicken, tofu, and various vegetables, and make a Roll-Your-Own Party out of it!

Here’s what we prepared:

  • Rice paper (found in any local supermarket)
  • Lettuce, bean sprouts, fresh cilantro and mint leaves (MUST HAVE fresh mint!)
  • Poached shrimp
  • Rice noodles (I was out, so I used the thick long rice I had at home instead. For rice noodles, simply boil for  a few minutes and drain.)
  • A big bowl of warm water
  • Peanut Sauce for dipping (I made mine with peanut butter, fish sauce, sugar, lime juice, Sriracha hot sauce, and a little water to adjust the thickness)

052809 summer roll ingredients

First you dip the rice paper in the water – just a quick dip to wet the entire sheet will do.

052809 summer roll dip

Then you fill it with whatever your heart desires. I like mine with tons of cilantro and mint.

052809 summer roll fill

Wrap… (Remember to tuck the ends in like a burrito. The good thing is these rice wrappers are pretty durable and have stretch to them, so don’t be afraid to fill them up and pull tightly.)

052809 summer roll wrap

… and Enjoy!

052809 summer roll fone

10 Responses to “Summer Rolls at Home”


  1. 1 NL June 5, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Looks delicious, Ai! I’ve always wanted to try making them so your pictured directions are just enough to encourage me to do it! Like you, I love cilantro and mint (I’ve finally grown a bunch in my garden!). Are the ingredients in the peanut sauce “to taste” or do you have measurements?

    • 2 Er June 6, 2009 at 2:09 pm

      You know that I’m not the biggest vietnamese food fan…But your rolls look GOOD! Maybe I have to give it a try one day…

  2. 3 honolulueats June 6, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    NL: Ooh, I would love to have fresh herbs growing in a garden, and just snip some everytime I need it. Having fresh herbs on hand is the ultimate luxury in cooking, isn’t it? I currently have mint (and arugula),and my basil and green onion died. but cilantro seems especially hard to keep alive…
    The peanut sauce is to taste, no recipe. A little peanut butter goes a long way. Let me know how it comes out!

    Er: I know you’re not into Vietnamese, but actually, I think summer rolls (and spring rolls) you would like. Let’s go eat Vietnamese one day! Have you tried pho? I think you’d like that too.

    • 4 Er June 6, 2009 at 11:36 pm

      I’ve only really had Vietnamese…one time, I think? I did try pho…it was not bad. That whole minty cilantro taste is a bit strong for me, but yeah…we could probably go there for a GNO one day…then I can try it again.

  3. 5 NL June 7, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Actually, Ai, I’ve had a “black” thumb all my life, but my friend kept encouraging me until I now have a pretty good size garden….ALL in containers! That’s probably the “secret” of my success this time. Basil is really easy to grown in a container…ask Kristen…I gave her some in a pot that is growing in her lanai and she said it’s doing great! The secret of growing green onions (another friend’s advice) is do NOT water them too much and they LOVE the hot sun. Plus she told me to dry out the roots a little before I plant it. (I just get the roots from purchased green onions). Finally, I’ve gotten some hardy green onions. All us friends into gardening agree that cilantro is extremely hard to grow…we’ve all but given up! My herb garden contains: dill, tarragon, sage, oregano, american and italian parsley, mint, basil, fennel and thyme. Also try planters for other veggies (I have 5 different kinds of tomatoes, lots of pots of manoa lettuce so I can have fresh lettuce any time, bell peppers, zucchini, chili peppers, strawberries, snap peas(not doing too well), mesclun greens, shiso (does great…huge leaves)…perfect for apartment lanais.
    I love tending to my “garden” just watching it’s daily growth.

  4. 6 honolulueats June 9, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Er: Yes, let’s go one day. I totally understand about the mint/cilantro being too strong. We can actually ask them to not put cilantro in your pho, then it would just be like saimin.

    NL: WOW!!! you are quite the gardener. That’s an amazing variety of herbs and veggies you have growing. My mouth was watering when I read your list of herbs. (Is it in your backyard? because I don’t remember seeing a garden out front). I’m so jealous that you have shiso. I LOVE shiso and have tried is many times. The first time someone STOLE IT!!! It was funny actually (if they were that hungry for shiso, they can have it). But anyway, after they grow a whole lot, then they get the flowers and seeds on top, then it always dies. Are you supposed to clip the flowers off?
    Same for my basil and green onion – they always die. What am I doing wrong? Is it possible for basil to live “forever”?

  5. 7 NL June 10, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Actually, my shiso plant is one of my plants that is doing pretty well. I got my starter plant from Star’s Garden shop for $1.29 and it was not doing too well, so the next time I went I got two more. I transplanted all three into a large pot and now they are doing great. The worker at Star told me to pinch off the section that will become flowers before they bloom or the plant will start to die. I’ve been pinching like mad at just a hint of flowers; i’m thinking that sometimes I may be pinching off some baby leaves! The leaves grow pretty big…about 4 inches long and 2-3 inches wide. I love eating it with just a small amount of rice wrapped in it. How do you eat it? When we get together to watch an episode of the Bachelorette or you get together with Kristen, I’ll give you some. Next time you’re near by my house, you won’t be able to miss my “garden.” It’s lined up the length of my driveway and on the side of my house. I am a little worried that one day I’m going to wake up, go outside to water them, and they’ll have all disappeared.

    Talking about food, I still really look forward to reading your blog even if I don’t always comment. I’m going to try the Raraya Ramen soon. If you didn’t see it, there’s a coupon for a free $2 side in the dining out section of the newspaper.

    • 8 honolulueats June 12, 2009 at 9:33 pm

      Good advice! I’m too slow and the shiso flowers grow before I remember to pinch them off. That’s why it always dies… I love shiso on many things, but some chopped shiso on top of rice, topped with raw ahi marinated in shoyu/ginger is delicious. Also a super easy tsukemono recipe is to massage some cucumber with julienne shiso and salt. Leave for a while and squeeze the water out.
      Thanks for the tip on the Raraya coupon!

  6. 9 NL June 14, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Ai, I just talked to Kristen and, of course, I’m going to bring you some of my home grown shiso on Thursday night when we get together. Looking forward to seeing all of you. We’ll have our work cut out for us….lots to do!

    Thanks for the shiso recipes! Sound like a must try the next time I pick up some ahi! I do see restaurants wrap some around ika nigiri sushi and I love the combination of it so I’m sure the ahi would be even more delicious.

  7. 10 honolulueats June 16, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    NL: Oooh I can’t wait till Thursday! Thank you so much!


Comments are currently closed.



June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Comments

Archive