Angelo Pietro

My girlfriends and I celebrate our birthdays by treating the birthday girl to dinner at a restaurant of her choice. Dinner this month was at Angelo Pietro, selected by the birthday girl. She loves the Tarako (cod fish roe) Spaghetti there, which is also one of my favorites. I don’t know of any other restaurant in Honolulu that serves Tarako Spaghetti. If anyone knows where I can get it beside Pietro’s, please let me know! It’s fairly easy to make at home (just toss freshly boiled spaghetti with a mixture of butter and tarako and garnish with julienne nori) but I hardly make it because tarako is super expensive in Hawaii.

The menu at Pietro’s is an eclectic mix of Japanese inspired pastas and pizzas. Some of their signature items include Raw Potato Salad (you gotta try it once!), Takana (a Japanese pickle) and Bacon Spaghetti, and Natto Spaghetti. Originally from Japan, this restaurant has been around for a while in Honolulu. I used to come here often in college, but in my opinion the quality of food has sadly declined over the past several years. Nevertheless, the place was filled with guests on a Saturday night.

We ordered:

Tarako Spaghetti with Ika, and add-on of Sausage ($14.50) for the guest of honor:

Angelo Pietro - Tarako with Ika, add-on Sausage ($14.50)

Angelo Pietro - Tarako with Ika, add-on Sausage ($14.50)

Monthly Special: Baked Penne with Chicken and Bacon for my other friend:

Angelo Pietro - Baked Penne with Chicken and Bacon

Angelo Pietro - Baked Penne with Chicken and Bacon

Spaghetti Genovese ($10.95) for my other friend, who is a mommy-to-be. She also happens to be a vegetarian who recently started eating meat (for the baby I think) and claims she can never go back now.

Angelo Pietro - Genovese ($10.95)

Angelo Pietro - Genovese ($10.95)

I decided to try something different this time, Spaghetti with Spinach and Bacon with Garlic Oil Sauce ($9.25), which was not the best idea. There was way too much bacon in there and the spinach and bacon were obviously pre-sauteed and left sitting for a while, as is evident in my lukewarm dish filled with brown mushy spinach and coagulated bacon fat. As for the sauce, I could only taste the Dashinomoto (katsuo flavor to be exact) in the bland sauce, not the garlic oil I wanted to taste. Next time I’d better stick with my tried-and-true favorite, the Tarako Spaghetti.

Angelo Pietro - Spinach and Bacon ($9.25)

Angelo Pietro - Spinach and Bacon ($9.25)

After dinner we relocated to Starbucks, where we chatted over coffee until late into the night. Celebrating 10 years of friendship and many more to come…!

OVERALL: OK
PRICE RANGE: $6.50-$10.50 for salads and appetizers, $7.50-$13.95 for pizzas and salads. Click here to view the menu.
MY BILL: $18.00 (including my share of the birthday meal)
RETURNING?: If the opportunity arises

Angelo Pietro Honolulu
1585 Kapiolani Blvd. #110
Honolulu, HI 96814
808.941.0555
Sun-Thu 11:00a-10:00p
Fri-Sat 11:00am-11:00p

6 Responses to “Angelo Pietro”


  1. 1 Kristen April 28, 2009 at 6:06 am

    Thanks for dinner! You know, I agree with you about the food, though my dish always seems to stay the same as I remember it. Just from the looks of it and people’s reactions, the quality doesn’t seem the same as when I first found the place 15 years ago. It’s too bad that the other dishes didn’t seem to be as good. I think the reason I Pietro’s is so special to me is 1: I can’t find that dish anywhere else and 2: there’s just a lot of positive memories associated with the place… our cohort-mentor dinner, the place I went after I FINALLY passed my driving test and got my license, where my old friend Donovan and I always go whenever we finally get a chance to get together…
    I think somehow to me the place is just as important as the food sometimes. Eating there just makes me feel good 🙂

    • 2 Er April 28, 2009 at 9:43 am

      I always enjoy our GNOs, no matter where we go. But yes, I totally agree with you Kris! Pietro almost seems like it’s part of our memories/history…I remember when they first opened…And it is still one of my fail-safe places where I always know what to get, and I’ll be satisfied (except for this time around where I tried something different and it was just…OK).

      BTW, nice scanning/linking of the menu there…! Good job! 🙂

  2. 3 honolulueats April 28, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Hi girls! Kristen, you’re totally right! Which is why I, like Erin, always enjoy our GNOs no matter where we go or how the food is. I totally forgot about that cohort dinner we had – you brought back memories…

  3. 4 Swimmers Rule!! April 28, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    I agree! I appreciate the fact that when someone goes out I get the TV all to myself! GNO is awesome!

  4. 5 NL May 3, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    I used to go to Pietro’s so often, but I haven’t had the change recently. I always ordered the same thing…..shrimp with bacon pasta with cream sauce…YUM. If I was really splurging I would add on enoki mushrooms. I also love the fried onions that are sprinkled on the top of the pasta.

    Okay, I’m really getting hungry to go there so I’ll make it a point to go soon!

    By the way, Ai, I really enjoy your blog. Even if I don’t comment on all the places you write about, I read all of them and really find them informative, interesting and mouth watering….I can get my food fix just by looking at your pictures!

  5. 6 honolulueats May 4, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    NL: I know, I like those fried onions on top of their spaghetti too. Thank you so much for your always so sweet and encouraging comments!


Comments are currently closed.



April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Recent Comments

Archive