Afternoon Tea at Halekulani

Instead of going to lunch today, my coworkers and I decided to treat ourselves to Afternoon Tea at Halekulani. Just for fun. One of the best things about working in Waikiki is the variety of dining options within walking distance.

041509-hk-interior

I LOVE afternoon tea, but it can be  a little tricky. Do I have a big breakfast and skip lunch? Or do I have a light lunch? Will I be hungry again for dinner? (As mentioned previously, in my family our lives revolve around our meals. We’re a little overly concerned about when and what our next meal will be). I finally decided on a hearty breakfast and also brought a snack with me to munch on during the work day.

Afternoon tea was fabulous. It’s served daily from 3:00-5:30pm in a little area called the Veranda at Halekulani, where you can relax in plush armchairs overlooking the grassy courtyard. Tea is $26.00 per person and includes “a properly brewed pot of tea”, assorted tea sandwiches, scones, and pastries. I went with a caffeine-free Pineapple Coconut Rooibos with Mango tea, my coworker had Earl Grey, and my other coworker had Orange Pekoe, served with lemon, honey, and cream.

041509-hk-tea

First course is the assorted tea sandwiches. They’re so tiny and delicate (translation: if my husband had a plate of these put in front of him, his reaction would be outrage). Clockwise from top: Chicken and Apricot on Raisin Bread, Roasted Eggplant, Zucchini and Olive Tapenade on Focaccia, Lobster and Crab on Baguette, and Smoked Salmon on Pumpernickel.

041509-hk-sandwiches

Next were the Blackberry Scones with Devonshire Cream, Lemon Curd and Raspberry Preserves. Three words: TO DIE FOR. Devonshire cream basically  tastes like heavy cream in solid form – note to self: must add this to my grocery list – and Halekulani makes their own wonderful, creamy, tangy lemon curd. We all agreed we could eat a dozen of these scones, nothing else, and go home happy.

041509-hk-scones

But then the pastry cart was rolled out, from which you get to select three. I selected the Fresh Berry Tart, Mini Cream Puff, and Chocolate Cupcake as  I thought to myself “if I begged, would they give me all five?”. But then I remembered I’ve been very bad these past few days with my sugar ban.

041509-hk-dessert-cart

041509-hk-desserts

I so enjoyed tea today that I was inspired to go experience afternoon tea at some other renowned hotels next: The Veranda at the Kahala Hotel and Resort ($28.00) and the Veranda at the Westin Moana Surfrider ($32.50). Can you believe the coincidence that all three locations are called the Veranda!?

Halekulani
2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
(Complimentary validated valet and self-parking)
808.923.2311

5 Responses to “Afternoon Tea at Halekulani”


  1. 1 maryg May 4, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    How was tea at the Moana Surfrider and the Kahala? Which did you like best?

    • 2 honolulueats May 4, 2009 at 8:15 pm

      Sorry, I haven’t had a chance to try Kahala and Moana Surfrider yet. I plan to go to Kahala within the next few weeks so when I do, I’ll be sure to review it on my blog. Thanks for your comment!

  2. 3 TanQ10 June 24, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    Hi

    Thanks for the pictures of the Tea @ Halekulani. It is the only one i haven’t done yet. I’ve been to the other Veranda’s (coincidence, huh?) a few times, each. The service & food at Surfrider wasn’t that great. It wasn’t bad, just ordinary but i love the almost beach front setting and the atmosphere (Aunties show up with their tea hats on). The service & food at the Kahala veranda was wonderful. Both times, i was the only person, which is not bad thing. It was just wonderful food on the veranda, didn’t feel like Sunday Afternoon Tea. I wish i could take the food of the Kahala and serve it at the Surfrider! 😛 I am in Oahu this weekend and will try the Halekulani. Mahalo

    -T

    • 4 honolulueats June 24, 2009 at 10:08 pm

      Cool, thanks for the info! I still haven’t tried the Moana Surfrider yet, but I’d love to soon. That’s the one thing the Halekulani doesn’t have is an ocean view, but the service is great. Enjoy your tea at Halekulani!


  1. 1 Afternoon Tea at the Kahala Hotel and Resort « Honolulu Eats Trackback on May 11, 2009 at 9:20 pm
Comments are currently closed.



April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Recent Comments

Archive