Tiramisu Cake

 

My contribution for a dinner party this weekend was a cheese platter and Tiramisu Cake. I altered several tiramisu recipes I found online to make it easier, since I wasn’t in the mood to mix eggs over a double boiler, or search the island markets for lady fingers. So I used cake instead of lady fingers and a no-cook cream recipe.

1 cup Heavy cream, whipped with a little sugar to taste
1 lb Mascarpone cheese
1/2 cup Sugar
3 tbsp Brandy or rum
Yellow cake or any kind of sponge cake
1/2 cup strong coffee/espresso with a splash of Kahlua
Cocoa powder

Mix mascarpone cheese, sugar, and liquor in a bowl. Fold in whipped cream. In a container, put down a thin layer of cake, brush with coffee mixture. Spread half of the cream on top.  Cover with another layer of cake, and brush with coffee again. Top with rest of the cream and dust with cocoa powder.

Mascarpone cheese is similar to clotted cream, it basically tastes like solid heavy cream, my favoritest thing in the whole world. There’s NO way this thing can come out tasting bad…

4 Responses to “Tiramisu Cake”


  1. 1 Keith July 4, 2011 at 10:15 am

    That cake was PERFECT! I enjoyed our last piece last night, but had a bittersweet feeling when it was all pau… : (

    • 2 honolulueats July 5, 2011 at 11:22 am

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks again for having us over. The service was superb at your establishment. :D

  2. 3 Mariko July 5, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    I actually prefer cake to lady fingers. I know they’re authentic, but they don’t taste as good (in my opinion). If you ever DO want them, though, I’ve seen them at Safeway (on King..?) and Y. Hata. My mom sent me a recipe for chocolate tiramisu a ways back and I wanted to make it, but I looked at it and thought, too many steps! At the time. Maybe I’ll use your cream recipe for it…
    I agree. Marscarpone is lovely. Solid heavy cream? Yes, please.

    • 4 honolulueats July 6, 2011 at 11:32 am

      Thanks for the info on where to find lady fingers. Y. Hata – I’ve never been there, I thought they were only a distribution company, didn’t know they were open to the public…


Comments are currently closed.



July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Comments

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers