Today’s Bento

 

Hubby’s bento today:

  • Broccoli
  • Garlic steak (I made beef curry today, so I bought a big piece of sirloin steak for the curry and cut off a piece for the bento. Simply seasoned with garlic salt and pepper)
  • Corn and carrots (Saved a few pieces of the carrots also used in the curry)
  • Pesto pasta (leftover from my lunch out today)
6 Responses to “Today’s Bento”


  1. 1 Er December 8, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    Gotta love that presentation…! :-)

  2. 2 NL December 9, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    I agree with Erin! Your “plating” of even a bento is impressive! You can make anything look delicious….not that your food can’t stand alone, but what a presentation! Makes you feel like you can’t wait to just dive in!

    By the way, I love how you can put together a completely delicious new meal pieced from part of the previous day’s food! Very creative and economical! Love the idea of using the muffin baking cups to separate the corn and carrots.

    • 3 honolulueats December 11, 2009 at 10:14 pm

      Thanks NL and Er! But I’m a little puzzled as to what all the fuss is about. All I did was slice a steak and put it on top of some rice. How would other people present it that’s not “fancy”?

      • 4 Er December 12, 2009 at 10:19 pm

        It’s just SO “neat & tidy.” Like I would just shove all the food in together in a tupperware. Your meat is all layed out nicely and in order…You separated the veggies, etc. It just looks so “put together.” :-)

      • 5 honolulueats December 13, 2009 at 5:30 pm

        Hmmm… I see. Although I’m sure you wouldn’t take the time to mix the veggies and steak if they were cooked separately to begin with. I’m sure your bentos would come out just as nicely. I remember your lunches when we were in college: White Castle burgers (yum!), chicken noodle soup or tomato pasta with rice (haha) and a can of soda. Alex’s lunches: veggie burger patty, or soy “nuggets”. Memories!

      • 6 Er December 13, 2009 at 11:14 pm

        Yup…those were the days! The lunches themselves may have been a bit…weird :-p, but lunchtime in the faculty lunchroom at Manoa was the highlight of my day when we were there! It was so fun to eat together like that everyday! :-) MEMORIES is right!


Comments are currently closed.



December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.