Neighborhood Eats: Amina Pizzeria

There’s a building in my neighborhood that houses a random gathering of businesses: a pawn shop, pizzeria, beauty salon, pho restaurant, cigarette shop, and a suspicious looking neon sign that I swear is a brothel. Yes, the area is a little sketchy but nevertheless, I love my hood. I love that every convenience is within easy walking distance and I’m a big fan of walking to neighborhood businesses to support the local community.

Anyway, Amina Pizzeria is a newcomer occupying a tiny space in this building on Kalakaua Avenue. The tenant turnover of this space is so high that my husband and I thought we’d better check it out while we have the chance. I think the place is designed for mostly take out orders, but they do have 12 seats if you prefer to eat in, and there is a parking lot behind the building (entrance off Fern Street).

041209-amina-exterior

041209-amina-interior

We ordered:

  • Amina’s Combination Pizza ($18.95 for a 14″ pizza)
  • Spaghetti with Mushrooms in Creamy Garlic Sauce ($8.95)
  • Garden Green Salad ($5.25)
Amina Pizzeria - Amina's Combination Pizza

Amina Pizzeria - Amina's Combination Pizza

Amina Pizzeria - Spaghetti with Mushrooms in Creamy Garlic Sauce

Amina Pizzeria - Spaghetti with Mushrooms in Creamy Garlic Sauce

Amina Pizzeria - Garden Salad

Amina Pizzeria - Garden Green Salad

I’m actually sorry that I couldn’t write a better review because I really want to support local restaurants. The meal started out good with a large, fresh salad served with a yummy herb dressing. But I would skip the pastas next time – the spaghetti was dry like it’s been sitting for a while. The pizza has a thin crust and tasted fine. It’s probably a matter of preference, but I prefer a softer, chewier dough to the Amina crust which tasted a lot like pre-manufactured pizza crust you find in the refrigerated section in supermarkets. For almost an identical menu offering, I prefer La Pizza Rina on South King Street.

OVERALL: COULD BE BETTER
PRICE RANGE:$6.95-$8.95 for 9″ Pizzas, $12.95-$18.95 for 14″ Pizzas, $6.95-$10.95 for Pastas, $7.95-$8.95 for Calzones, $5.25-$7.25 Salads. Also available are Sub Sandwiches, French Bread Pizzas, and Garlic Rolls.
MY BILL: $40.00 for two
RETURNING?: After a while we’ll probably check it out again

Amina Pizzeria
(corner of Fern Street and Kalakaua Avenue, across from Martini Zoo)
1694-E Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96826
808.949.3548
Sat-Thu 10:30a-9:30p
Fri 3:30p-9:30p

7 Responses to “Neighborhood Eats: Amina Pizzeria”


  1. 1 sachiko April 12, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    あれま!

    ずいぶんとお値段がはりますこと!

    高いのにありがと~!
    さっちはけっこうおいしいとおもいました。

    Youはふわふわクラスト派なのね。なるほど。

  2. 2 Er April 13, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Gosh, I never even really notice those hole in the wall places like this one.Too bad the food wasn’t better! At least you gave them a shot…I would probably be too weary to try it. ;-) Altho I HAVE tried La Pizza Rina…I did like that place. Sounds like I should just stick to that one instead. ;-)

  3. 3 Kristen April 13, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    La Pizza Rina is one of Matt and my favorites. :) I love the spaghetti with their homemade sausage, and have heard that their salad dressing is great. It’s always good to visit new places, though!

  4. 4 sachiko April 14, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    hahaha i just noticed.

    “i love my hood” too!

    it is so sketchy.

  5. 5 honolulueats April 14, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Erin: Yes, this one is really hole in the wall. Although I recently found out there is another Amina Pizzeria in Kailua that’s supposed to be good. I wonder if they’re the same owners…

    Kristen: I love La Pizza Rina too! Maybe we should do them one GNO.

    Sachi: I love our hood even with all the strip clubs and brothels. One reason I love it is because it’s so close to you guys and Dean guys.

  6. 6 Swimmers Rule!!! April 15, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Hey but the bread was really good and the pizza was similar to La Pizza Rina. So I think probably their Calzones or bread dominated dishes could be great.


Comments are currently closed.



April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Recent Comments

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers